Fiberglass patch panels? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2004, 08:09 PM

Last journal entry: finished
Wiki Edits: 0

scratch building steel patch panels

Hey everyone,
I've been trying to find rear quarter panel patches for my 1964 fairlane, and I can't find too much. I found some metal patch panels, but not for my year. The one thing I did find was fiberglass panels, which sounds a little strange to me. I'm pretty new to body work, so I'm sorry if this is a dumb question... but how would you attach a fiberglass patch panel to the rear quarter? I thought that if you fiberglassed them to the fender, the metal and fiberglass would heat up and cool down at different rates, and after a little while I'd get a big ol' crack. Does anyone know how to do this? Thanks in advance for all your help.

~Frank~

Advertisement

Last edited by flamedfordbronco; 04-10-2004 at 08:56 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-08-2004, 09:44 PM
Ferguson Coachbuilding

Last journal entry: '41 Chevy sedan
Last photo:

Hi Frank,
I've never heard of such a thing! I certainly would not use them. You are correct about the expansion rate. Sounds like way more trouble than it's worth. How bad are your panels?? Could you send a picture or two? One close up and another of the entire quarter would be good. Don't cut any of the old metal out yet. If you want, I'll guide you through making patch panels.

Randy Ferguson
Metalshaping & Custom Paint
www.metalmeet.com
Old 04-08-2004, 10:01 PM

Hey Randy,