fiero 2.5 to 2.5 swap - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 07:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fiero 2.5 to 2.5 swap

i have a 85 2m4 fiero. it all the sudden started running really poorly. i checked the compression after going through the fuel system and ignition system and there was almost none. so i decided to just put another 2.5.

My question is does it matter what other 2.5 liter i put in it. like will an 88' 2.5 out of a s-10 work with all the rest of the original setup.

Any feedback would be great. Thanks!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-09-2008, 08:25 PM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,490
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 392 Times in 366 Posts
no, a 2.5L is not a direct bolt in, but you can make it work. You need to modify the fierro head to bolt to the s10 block, and you need to keep the fierro head to run the fierro intake. you can keep the s10 head and intake if you wish, it should all pulg up fine but the throttle cable needs to be flipped i think- that's about it.

yes I knwo way too much about those 2.5L's. If you want to hot rod one i have a lot of build adcive that can build you a VERY nice 2.5L. Still under 200 hp (all the factory casting heads are somewhat restrictive), but a blast to drive and sounds mean as hell.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2008, 06:53 AM
Jake_Dragon's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: New Carb
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 772
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
The 85 is not a DIS motor so you will have your work cut out for you trying to make one work.
I would try and find one of the early year motors. If you are going to install a newer motor and have to go through a lot of work you should find something a little newer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-10-2008, 07:35 AM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,490
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 392 Times in 366 Posts
swap in a mechanical dizzy from a early citation, sbc flat top pistons, a carb intake with a holley 2bbl, and a cam of your choice (something around 230 @.050"). Viola.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 04:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
89 grand am

thanks for all the feedback. i was just using the s-10 as an exaple. i found a 2.5 for the fiero. it would be out of a 89 grand am. what would i have to do to make this one work with my 85' fiero.

...or would i be better off finding the same year 2.5 or putting in a 2.8. i found a web site that sends you everything you'd need to swap in 2.8 in place of a 2.5. any ideas... Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 04:47 PM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,490
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 392 Times in 366 Posts
go with a 3.4L from a Camaro, it'll bolt up anywhere a 2.8L will. Its the same block, just bigger.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 06:49 PM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: Found an LQ9 today
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carlisle, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 5,320
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 20
Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
Wait... everybody hold on.

You can't mix RWD and FWD. The Fiero (being a transverse engine) uses the FWD type architecture, so for the sake of this discussion its FWD.

RWD blocks, heads, and intakes are different. The starter is in a completely different place, the heads are different, and in general its just a whole different critter. Internally they are the same, but externally they are different.

So, skip the camaro and S10 ideas. Stick with FWD donors.

.... or go with one of the common aftermarket options, like the Northstar, SBC, or LS1 options.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 07:16 PM
Jake_Dragon's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: New Carb
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 772
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis73
So, skip the camaro
The 3.4 uses the same bolt pattern, its a common upgrade if your just looking for a little more power than the 2.8 unless you get a good deal on a used 2.8 the 3.4 would be a better choice as its almost exactly the same amount of work and a better engine.

A quad 4 out of a grand am is also a nice swap, if I was going to do it I would also swap the tranny out of the donor car as well. Better gears and you will probably get better gas mileage.

If you want a good jump in HP look at the 3800 SC or go NA and put a turbo on it. I would also use the tranny out of the donor car.

If you have lots of money and time you can order an adapter plate and install a SBC
There are several out there, I got mine from V8Archie (Google is your friend)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	what-is-this-001.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	25.5 KB
ID:	34115   Click image for larger version

Name:	2200 001.jpg
Views:	126
Size:	118.2 KB
ID:	34116  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 07:29 PM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,490
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 392 Times in 366 Posts
wow, I could have sworn the fierro was a 60 V6 mounting pattern, good thing someone caught that- and I learned something new.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 08:38 PM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: Found an LQ9 today
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Carlisle, PA
Age: 41
Posts: 5,320
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 20
Thanked 26 Times in 20 Posts
It is the same tranny mount pattern... but the starter is in a completely different location, and the intake and exhaust manifolds are different as well as the heads.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2008, 09:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i don't have a lot of time and money and i'm pretty sure that when i get it going again, i'm going to sell it. so performance isn't really a big deal at this point. whatevers easiest, cheapest, and realiable
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 12:41 AM
Jake_Dragon's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: New Carb
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Central Florida
Age: 49
Posts: 772
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtis73
It is the same tranny mount pattern... but the starter is in a completely different location, and the intake and exhaust manifolds are different as well as the heads.
You have to drill for the starter, you can buy a jig or make one. You also have to use the Fiero intake and exhaust anyway. The Camaro intake wont work due to the distributer. Other than some reinforcement webbing on the 3.4 and the starter holes its identical to the 2.8 from the outside.

tkas4x4 sounds like you need to find another Fiero Duke between the years 85 - 87
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 07:15 AM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,490
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 392 Times in 366 Posts
If you want cheap, I'd just get a cheap rebuild kit from Norther Auto, hone out the cylinders and slap it in. It won't give you any extra performance, but it'll run.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 08:08 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 10
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i'm not sure if i need a whole new moter or what. its runs but only 2000 rpm. it sounds like its running on two cyl. and is being flooded with gas. it blows out black smoke out of the exahust and backfires so bad that the dipstick shoots out 15 feet. we changed the coil, roter, distributer, plug, plug wires, egr, idel air control. what else could it be other than a hole in the piston? are these 2.5Ls bad for blowing up?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2008, 08:24 AM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,490
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 20
Thanked 392 Times in 366 Posts
Are your plug wires crossed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fiero -engine swap ford2go Hotrodding Basics 8 06-29-2011 01:18 AM
Pontiac Fiero Owner swapping in a 350, maybe 383 sbc with a v8 archie kit Fiero Performance Engine 2 02-24-2009 05:30 AM
Fiero Automatic Swap camaro freak Transmission - Rearend 8 05-31-2006 09:28 PM
Fiero V8 Swap Fordman6442 Introduce Yourself 2 12-13-2004 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.