filling in weld pin holes - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-22-2014, 05:31 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

filling in weld pin holes

ok, im not a professionally welder lol. My little mig welder has left a few pin holes in my sheet metal repair. What is good to fill these in with before laying filler over it? I've heard bondo glass is good, and I've heard just seam sealer will work. I don't want the filler to start bubbling a few years down the road. thanks

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-22-2014, 08:44 PM
Automotive Extraordinaire

Last photo:

Usually the best thing to do is to weld them up if there is any chance of moisture getting in from the back side. There may be other options that won't cause a problems later on if the holes are in the weld bead and don't go all the way through. Can you post a few pictures?

Kelly
Old 01-23-2014, 12:11 AM
put up or shut up

Last journal entry: saying goodbye to the beast
Last photo:

I'd grind it flat and try to lay a weld over the entire area affected. You'd figure whatever was causing it had burned away for the next weld.
Old 01-23-2014, 06:22 AM

Last journal entry: Still running strong

If they are really small pin holes like the ones I get I'll wait until I'm done an ready for the first coat of epoxy, spray that an the ones that are still their, usually all of them then I'll fill them with body filler/galze, sand an then the next coat of epoxy.
Old 01-23-2014, 06:35 AM

Last wiki edit: Stripping paint Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by dogwater View Post