Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Engine (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/engine/)
-   -   Finding a good machine shop? (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/finding-good-machine-shop-81217.html)

jtybt 02-09-2006 03:08 AM

Finding a good machine shop?

Newbie here,
I'm looking for a good machine shop. My regular shop is 3 months back logged.I live in the east bay of the San Francisco Bay area.

I just finished tearing down a 400 sbc 509 2 bolt. I haven't done all the measurements yet but it has been bored .030 over. I have a set .030 (4.155") pistons so I'd like to save the bore size. #5 rod brn spun and #1&2 main probably spun. Also need it decked.

Anybody know of a shop close by for me?

Thanks,
Charlie

k-star 02-09-2006 06:36 AM

shop

As a word of caution if you step into a machine shop that can do the job "right now" be careful...... Most shops run 2 or 3 weeks all the time... I am about a month 6 weeks behind right now....

Ask some car guys in your area who they use,, or maybe some local garages...

Keith

machine shop tom 02-09-2006 10:05 AM

I know there is a guy in York, PA who does good work. Might be a little too far away for you, though.

tom

johnsongrass1 02-09-2006 10:33 AM