Finding a good machine shop? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-09-2006, 02:08 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Finding a good machine shop?

Newbie here,
I'm looking for a good machine shop. My regular shop is 3 months back logged.I live in the east bay of the San Francisco Bay area.

I just finished tearing down a 400 sbc 509 2 bolt. I haven't done all the measurements yet but it has been bored .030 over. I have a set .030 (4.155") pistons so I'd like to save the bore size. #5 rod brn spun and #1&2 main probably spun. Also need it decked.

Anybody know of a shop close by for me?

Thanks,
Charlie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-09-2006, 05:36 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last journal entry: PICTURE TEST
Last photo:

shop

As a word of caution if you step into a machine shop that can do the job "right now" be careful...... Most shops run 2 or 3 weeks all the time... I am about a month 6 weeks behind right now....

Ask some car guys in your area who they use,, or maybe some local garages...

Keith
Old 02-09-2006, 09:05 AM
King of my Man-cave.

Last photo:

I know there is a guy in York, PA who does good work. Might be a little too far away for you, though.

tom
Old 02-09-2006, 09:33 AM
Race it, Don't rice it!

Last photo: