Hot Rod Forum banner

finding wheel that fit my bolt pattern

13K views 16 replies 7 participants last post by  chubbie 
#1 ·
Total Newbie Question here...thanks for suffering.
I have a 1970 Pontiac GT37/GTO, it has the typical 5 bolt/nut pattern on the wheels---will all 5 bolt/nut pattern wheels fit my pattern? Or is it much more detailed than that? Thanks

#3 ·
That seems to be a euro-centric Wiki entry. Suffice to say that your Pontiac uses the 5 x 4.75" wheel bolt circle that's probably THE most common one for aftermarket wheels. I will guarantee, however, that if you DON'T verify the bolt pattern before buying wheels, you'll get the wrong one.

Also, your RWD car wants wheels with as close to zero offset as possible. That means you cannot use the FWD wheels that have a large positive offset. Offset is the measurement of how far the wheel mounting surface is "offset" from the centerline of the rim. Zero offset means that they are lined up. Positive offset means that the rim (and tire) centerline is further inboard than the wheel mounting surface, negative offset means that it is outboard. Unfortunately, most wheel vendors specify backspacing instead of offset, and that's not really useful without also knowing the wheel width and the additional flange thickness on the edges of the rim.

#8 ·
wrong center bore

My son used a mustang steel spare wheel for his spare on a Lincoln Versailles 9 in rear. He went from N Calif bay area to LA, with the mustang wheel, He was " too busy" to get the correct aluminum wheel flat fixed. Some where in the middle of an LA freeway the wheel started to wobble. IT had several cracks. Lucky, the traffic jam had traffic only going 25 mph.

#9 ·