Hot Rod Forum banner

First 383 build

2K views 21 replies 6 participants last post by  vinniekq2 
#1 ·
I got a good deal on 350 4 bolt main and Im looking to put a 383 stroker kit in it with a turbo. Its my first build so I have a couple questions. I plan on going with a forged crank and pistons but I'm not sure what length rod and piston style I need. Should I go with cast or aluminium heads? Will I need to upgrade my head bolts with a turbo? And any suggestions would be appreciated.

#7 ·
Id like to get round 500+whp. I don't really have a budget set this will take awhile as I'm buying the parts as I get the money, but I'm not going cheap either. As far as rpms I'm not exactly sure. And the turbo is really just to say I have one and for the sound haha. I don't plan on running a lot of boost but I want an adjustable waste gate and internal components that can handle it just in case. Like I said this is my first build I am pretty knowledge able but I'd like some advice from people that know what would be best.

#8 ·
So couple small notes here.
If your looking for a mild 383 then scrap the Turbo idea and just build a healthy N/A motor, good heads, roller cam, fun 400-450 HP street motor for realativly inexpensive motor.
If your determined to do a turbo invest in an aftermarket block, a mild 383 on 10#+ is going to make enough nuts to break a stock block....and yes.....I'm aware many are out there living just fine....but its a dice roll....and is your budget enough to do it over if it breaks........

#10 ·
What would be the best option for heads?..I will be putting a turbo on it but like I said it's mainly for sho and small gaims. Unless I'm on the drag strip I probably won't go over 5psi. By the first thing id like to order is the stroker kit then heads and I'm still confused at to the length of rods and style I need and the type of piston I need(flat,dome, or dished).

#12 ·
I already stated twice,start with the heads,lol.