First Attempt at Door Panels - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Interior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2005, 01:55 PM
Classic Mustang Maniac

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

First Attempt at Door Panels

Hi all,

I this is my first attempt a making fiberglass anything. I figured to jump in and go for it.

Anyway I have made a card board template of the driver side door panel.

As you can see in the pics below part of the panel is to be raised(outer part of the panel) but I want the overall thickness (excluding the arm rest) to be only about 1/4". The standard door panel for a 66 Mustang is around 1/4 basically cardboard wraped in vinyl.

I guess my question is does the panel have to be backed with plywood like lauan then covered in fleece?

Or can I have a fiberglass(fleece and resin) back and build on top of it with more fleece to make the raised portion.

Also does anyone recommend strengthening the panel with mat?

Any other tip are appreciated as well.

Thanks for any answers,
mustang_Tom
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	panel_temp2small.jpg
Views:	260
Size:	22.2 KB
ID:	8443   Click image for larger version

Name:	panel_temp5small.jpg
Views:	238
Size:	19.1 KB
ID:	8444  

Advertisement

Last edited by mustang_Tomsilver; 12-17-2005 at 02:06 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2005, 04:12 PM

Last photo: