Hot Rod Forum banner

First build advice

4K views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  techinspector1 
#1 ·
Hey all,

I just joined the site after visiting several times for ideas and tips. I am contemplating my first engine build. I know absolutely nothing about tearing a motor down and rebuilding it from the ground up. I'm a shade tree mechanic that can keep the cars going, but have generally outsourced big jobs. With that said, I need a site where I can openly ask questions and learn without judgement or fear to ask.

I have a 68 C10 pickup with 350 sbc (3970010) from a 69 Impala. I want something that will run on pump gas and can be driven frequently. I'm simply looking to get 325 to 350 HP from my motor.

The build will include stock 76 cc heads, 2 barrel Rochester carb, plain headers.

In this build, I will replace the 2 barrel for a 600 Holley/ Edelbrock Performer intake. Update to the HEI distributor and hotter coil, new cam, master rebuild kit with pistons from Summit Racing, Eagle 5.7 I-beam rods with floating pins, reusing the stock crank.

Lets start here,
1. How much horsepower should I expect to produce by making the above changes?
2. Can I reach the 350 HP mark with this equation or do I need to buy new heads (say Vortec heads)?

See less See more
#2 ·
ceruddick I have a 68 C10 pickup with 350 sbc (3970010) from a 69 Impala. I want something that will run on pump gas and can be driven frequently. I'm simply looking to get 325 to 350 HP from my motor. The build will include stock 76 cc heads said:
1hp per inch is doable . I would opt for a flattop to raise compression. and cam choice will be important . If you have to buy the intake anyway i would go Vortec on the heads . David Vizzard has a few good books about making SBC HP . the 4160 Holley is proven , unless you need a double pump then i would move to a 650 cfm . You should be able to make 290-300 to the ground fairly easily with good drivability.

#3 ·