Hot Rod Forum banner

First Spray gun?

22K views 227 replies 15 participants last post by  carolinacustoms 
#1 ·
Hi

I am completely new to the idea of spray painting. I was looking to paint a few panels on my car. To be specific the fenders and the bumper.

I have been reading a lot about compressors and spray guns but I am having a difficult time making a final decision. I was wondering if someone could help.

My two disadvantages are compressor size and budget. I have a 11 gallon compressor rated at 5.5 cfm @ 40 psi and 4.6 cfm @ 90 psi.

I was wondering if someone could suggest a small spray gun for the job that would work with the compressor. I plan on doing one panel at a time so I am not too worried about compressor size being big enough to do all panels in one.

Also I am not looking to get something too high quality, something mid range. Thanks in advance.

#86 ·
Makes sense to me now.

Ill dig into the bumper today. I should be receiving the other fender today as well.

If that is coated I will go ahead and do the wet sanding with 600 grit. Is it okay if I sand by hand with the 600 grit. I found it more flexible to do it with the hand rather than the block. Or do you think I should stick with the block?

Also the guide coat, can that be purchased at any auto store? Is it available at a store like Menards also?

#87 ·
As far as hand wet sanding the other fender goes, that's fine, as long as you use the palm of your hand...I think we virtually have the finger sanding worked right out of you...and that's a good thing. If you do sand through to bare metal, those areas will need to be spot primed.