Hot Rod Forum banner

First time setting up rear end.

5K views 19 replies 3 participants last post by  big gear head 
#1 ·
Hey guys! Im trying to get my rear end squared away so I can get it bolted back under the truck (47 Dodge). The rear end in question is a 8.5 10 bolt with Detroit True Trac and Richmond 3.73s.

I have been messing around with pinion shims and backlash for about 5 hours now and got a pattern that looks decent....to me!? I want to get some professionals opinions on it to make sure Im on the right track since this is my first time messing with this.

The drive side pattern is the first photo below and the coast is the second:

any help is greatly appreciated! Im going at this semi-blind so I could use some help. Thanks!

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Looks like the pinion needs to go a little deeper. Try adding about .003 to the pinion shim.

Use an axle to turn everything when checking the pattern. Be sure that you have the pinion bearing preload set correctly each time you check it. If you are not consistant with the bearing preload then the pattern changes will be confusing. Add a drop of oil to the marking compound to thin it slightly and make several revolutions with the ring gear in both directions to wipe away the compound enough to make the pattern clear and easy to read.

#4 ·
Thanks guys!

Gear head I went with your suggestions and Im now running a .035" shim under my pinion with .010" backlash (on the first pattern I posted I had a .032" shim and .012 backlash)

This is the pattern I have now (pictured below: 1st pic-drive pattern, 2nd pic-coast)

Thanks again!

Attachments

#5 ·