first time spray booth question? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-29-2006, 12:28 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

first time spray booth question?

ive been shooting paint for like 4 years now, but never in a real booth. well this weekend i rented one for $50.00 for 4 hours. i was wondering, are there any tips or suggestions that would best utilize my time in there. also, ive been spraying in garages with limited ventilation, how will a booth differ from garages? quality of final finish? drying time? time between coats? im spraying a bc/cc paint system. any info will be greatly appreciated. thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-30-2006, 09:23 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last wiki edit: How to rebuild a Rochester Quadrajet 4MV carbureto...
Last journal entry: How to change auto shift timing on 200R4
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 21

You will never want to go back! Booths are a dream to work in. Drying time , time between coats, etc., wont change. Neither should your paint routine of wetting down the floor, de-greasing the primer, tack-ragging the surface, etc. However the lighting will be super so your coverage will be more uniform and job quality much improved. Final surface will be much cleaner too.
Old 09-30-2006, 09:32 AM
Brian Martin,Freelance adviser

Last photo:

Actually the time between coats and drying time can be speeded up of course because of the air movement pulling the solvents from the paint film.

Brian
Old 09-30-2006, 04:49 PM

Last photo:

The most important thing you can do is depending on the clear find out how long the manufacturer wants you to run the fan after your last coat of clear.