Fix engine or buy crate - Page 4 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2011, 11:24 AM
BigEd36's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Auburn, IN
Age: 65
Posts: 392
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 21
Thanked 46 Times in 41 Posts
I've never paid attention to the effects on mileage by a cam change, but, I would think a cam that puts your rpm in line with where you get the best torque should give good mileage. It seems that the rpm where you're getting the best torque should be the rpm where the engine is the most efficient, and that if it gives you the best torque then you don't need to give quite as much throttle, so that should give better mileage. But I could be out in left field on this. I do notice looking thru the cam listings on some of the mfg's websites that the cams in the "rv/towing" class have descriptions along the line of "smooth idle, street, towing, fuel economy". I'm hoping some of the guys with more info on mileage will chime in with some info.

Good luck on whatever you decide Bruce. With the price of gas now economy is becoming more important than ever. I rarely drive my pickup any more, unless I need it, due to how much more gas it takes than my car.

Ed

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2011, 04:14 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,762
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
My winter project is to install an Innovate LM-1 wide-band Air/Fuel ratio gauge and try to tune my carburetor a little more for economy. I'm running an Edelbrock 1406 right now, but still have the old Quadrajet that came with the truck.

I've got the AFR gauge wired up and it checks out good when I calibrate it. Now I have to get the exhaust shop to weld in the bung for the O2 sensor. Innovate uses a heated wideband sensor, so the exact placement is very flexible. I can only monitor one side with one sensor, but that should be enough for now.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
350 Crate Engine: Loud humming sound after engine warms up sofa1515 Engine 2 01-11-2010 06:48 PM
Crate Engine JMEDLEY001 Engine 3 12-31-2006 09:33 PM
crate engine StreetRacer Engine 8 04-26-2005 12:31 PM
350 crate engine Seon Engine 2 11-13-2002 05:58 PM
Crate Engine 1Hokie Engine 4 03-29-2002 04:58 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.