Flaring SS Brake Lines for AN Fittings - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-27-2003, 06:51 PM
Tomorrow Will Be a Better Day

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Post Flaring SS Brake Lines for AN Fittings

I built some beautiful SS brake lines for my '32 using AN fittings. But looks are deceiving. They leak everywhere. Anyone have experience or suggestions on what to do? I have ordered some fitting seals from Spruce Aircraft to try and seal the flares. I've never used them before, but am willing to try anything. Any other ideas on fixing the lines I have already built?

Are there any companies out there that can duplicate my custom lines? Minus the leaks, of course!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-27-2003, 07:07 PM

Last photo:

Those use a "double flare". You can get the tool to do it at napa.
Old 04-27-2003, 08:22 PM

I have to disagree on the double flare...Stainless lines require 37 degree flares and AN fittings. If you use 45 degree flares they won't seal against the ferrel properly and then they leak, but then you already know that. double flaring stainless is just too iffy. you may get a good flare and then you may not. the stuff is just too tough and wants to split. Get a 37 degree flaring tool from Speedway Auto for about 50.00 or so...thats my experience and nickels worth.......GlennK
Old 04-28-2003, 11:36 AM

Last photo:

quality flaring tool = good flare.
Old 04-28-2003, 12:37 PM
Tire Fryer

Last photo:

Thumbs up

Agree with the 37 deg. and a good flaring tool kit - no cheap versions.
Old 04-28-2003, 02:00 PM