flattie misfire? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2002, 07:15 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Question flattie misfire?

I recently bought a new coil and distributer (mallory duel point) for my 53 flathead. i was having low end bogging problems. i thought that was the problem. i also rebuilt the carb. thinking that was it. because the right jet was dripping instead of spraying. well turns out it still does. could that be the problem? it also backfires now at highter revs. do i just need a new carb or something else? thanks.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-13-2002, 01:02 AM

Cool

im no expert but, if part of the carb is driping the fuel insted of spraying it,it could be getting to much fuel and not getting a chance to burn it, this could be why its backfireing at high revs,a new carb may be whats needed, but if you could get the one part of the carb it could be cheeper!this could also have been why it was getting bogged down!
Old 03-13-2002, 12:29 PM

I am assuming you are running a 2bbl carb, but I don't know if you're using a stock fuel pump or an electric pump. Those old carbs were pretty sensitive to fuel pressure. If you're using an electric pump, the pump my be loading the carb-ie the pump is putting out more pressure than the needle/float can shut off. If this is the case, a fuel pressure regulator needs to be installed between the pump and carb. Set it around 2 1/2 to 3 psig. Doesn't sound like much when you compare it to todays carbs, but those old flat-motors didn't require a lot because in most cases the rpm wasn't as high as todays.