Flex Plate Holes Dont Match Torque Converter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 06:17 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baldwinsville
Posts: 202
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Flex Plate Holes Dont Match Torque Converter

Okay, so i'm out in my garage and i'm getting ready to put the engine back in my car. I built a 383 from a 76 Monte Carlo 350 and the kit that i bought came with a 400 balancer and flex plate. Then, for the transmission, i built up a TH350 non-lockup from the same car and put a B&M Torque Master 2500 stall. However, the holes on the flex plate are about 1/4 of an inch off. My question is how can i fix this? Do i need a new torque converter or flex plate or can i just grind the holes in a little on the flex plate and add some washers, but try to remove the same amount from each side? Or can i reuse my old flex plate from the 350?

This is the flex plate i have:

http://store.summitracing.com/partde...2&autoview=sku

Last edited by mightycarlo10; 03-07-2008 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 06:32 PM
DeathRattle's Avatar
Some Punk Kid
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Michigan
Age: 27
Posts: 787
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Hard to believe on a dual pattern flexplate(thats shown in the picture). One of those sets of holes should be right. What diameter is the converter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: murfreesboro tn.
Posts: 731
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Flex Plate Holes Dont Match Torque Converter

seen them slotted before
does your flywheel only have 3 holes and not six ?
the converter's snout is centered by the crank end .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2008, 06:37 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baldwinsville
Posts: 202
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I lied. Must of had a few too many tonight . I was spinning the damn engine over and kept going too much and skipped the right size. Gotta be a one of the stupider things i've done . I kept sayin to myself what the hell is goin on cuz i know its a dual pattern.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
97 350 vortec flex plate how many teeth ? 383silverado Engine 3 06-21-2007 08:51 PM
3 bolt holes for torque converter KeithB123 Engine 1 09-19-2003 07:04 PM
Th350 going to break, how to make spacer plate holes smaller? Jason Transmission - Rearend 7 06-30-2003 10:29 PM
What Can I Really Expect From a High Stall Torque Converter ? white66coupe Transmission - Rearend 3 05-25-2003 05:21 AM
Torque Converter to Flexplate 41willys Transmission - Rearend 2 11-01-2002 02:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.