Fluidampr and gear drive installation on SBC - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2012, 05:58 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Fluidampr and gear drive installation on SBC

Howdy, brothers. Long time reader; first post.

Just finished installing a Fluidampr (6.25") on an early SBC 350 that I had just put gear drive in.

While I'm not an experienced mechanic, I've done this same thing three times in the past, on similar engines, but using off-brand (CAT?) viscous dampers, and not the Fluidampr brand. I had no problems with those installs.

I took off a double-roller timing chain (GM part) and stock balancer. The gear drive crank gear is noticeably thinner than the crank sprocket for the chain.

When I installed the Fluidampr, using their specs of 70 ft-lbs, It sure seems like I have a lot of exposed (damper) shaft...Is this because the Fluidampr is so much smaller? I installed it correctly; anti-seize was used, and it goes on (with some resistance) smoothly, all the way until it doesn't want to go anymore--which, for me, was when I hit 70 ft-lbs. This, I assume, is where the end of the damper hits the crank gear. Is that right? Does the damper butt up against the crank gear on the timing set?

When I installed the lower pulley, it's considerably off when compared to the water pump pulley. Is this because of the thinner crank gear from the gear drive set? It's off by about a half a v-belt width: More than I've ever had when using aftermarket dampers/gear drives.

Am I worrying about nothing? Is this common?

I have shims for the crank pulley...Is it OK to adjust it that much forward off the damper? I really don't know how else to correct the misalignment (I'm not a machinist).