Ford 9" leaking gear oil - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2006, 11:21 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Ford 9" leaking gear oil

My brother o has a ford 9" that is leaking gear oil out one side of the axle by the disc brake assembly. Obviously its a seal of somekind. Is this pretty easy to repair or does it require removing the entire axle? I was thinking it might be an outer seal, but I have no experience with ford 9" rear ends.

Any help or guidance would be great!

Thank you...... 7dcrzr

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-26-2006, 05:11 AM
Last photo:

There are 4 bolts that hold the axle in. Remove the 4 bolts, remove the axle, remove and replace the seal. While you are at it go ahead and replace the axle bearing. It will be easiest for you to take it to an auto patrs house that can change the bearing for you. The bearing retainer can be a bugger to get off sometimes.

Vince
Old 01-26-2006, 06:35 AM
Home Built Rods No Rules

Last journal entry: Home Made Sheetmetal bender plans
Last photo:

I haven't checked this yet, mine seams to leak to off and on a freind told me to be sure it isn't over filled. Take the fill plug out sitting level the oil should be 1/2 to 3/4 inch below hole opening? Just a thought.
Old 01-26-2006, 11:49 AM
Licenced Automotive Technician

Last photo:

Also check the vent tube. Make sure it isn't plugged.
Old 01-28-2006, 10:28 PM
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.

Last photo:

#1, oil should always be filled up to the bottom of the filler hole. That is what it is there for.

# 2 it depends on the housing. Outer seals are just dust seals. The wheel bearing seal is inside the bearing on most housings.