Ford 9" What's So Special About it - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-31-2006, 05:53 PM
72NOVA454

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Ford 9" What's So Special About it

Hi

I'm new at the rear end stuff. I keep hearing about these Ford 9" rear ends. I know they've been around forever and all you guys know about them already, but I don't. Educate me.

what is so special about them that makes them the preferred street car, or drag car rear end?

I"ve got a 72 nova with a 10-bolt 8.5" and some people tell me to keep that and strengthen it by welding and getting new axles. Others are telling me to get rid of it and replace it with a Ford 9".

Your thoughts Please.

Lee

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-31-2006, 06:05 PM
Hotrodders.com moderator

Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage
Last journal entry: Yard Dog pic
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 3

First thing is that the Ford 9' is strong and holds up well to high HP apps..the other thing is that the way the Ford 9" is designed all one needs to do is pull the axles and slide out the punkin which can be done very quickly with practice..This allows gear changes to be made quickly in the field so the Ford 9' can be called the poor mans quick change..compared to what one needs to do to change gearing in some other rear ends it is easy in the Ford..

When racing fellows will have a couple of extra third members or punkins as some of us call them so if we need to change the rear gears for a certain track condition we can do it quickly in the pits.