Ford 9" Whine !! - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2007, 11:31 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Ford 9" Whine !!

Folks,
I am relatively new to Hot Rodding and dove into my 9" rebuild a few weeks ago. I reused my ring and pinion but put all new bearings and seals in the unit. (Carrier/pinion bearings, new crush sleeve, pinion nut etc). I put the pinion assembly back together and installed the pinion nut until there was 15 inch lbs of resistance. I installed a Detroit locker in to the unit and then tightened the side adjuster nuts and set the backlash to .008, on the money.

I took the ole' girl out for the test drive and around the neighborhood she sounded great. I took her out on the highway and the noise started at about 50mph. The noise is much worse on acceleration but it still can be heard faintly on deceleration.

I swear, but could be out of my gord, that the backlash is correct. Could I have tightened the side adjuster nuts too much?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-18-2007, 12:28 PM
Blowin' it

Last wiki edit: Choosing a trailer
Last journal entry: Running again...
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 11

Sounds like you have the backlash misadjusted. It should be .008 to .012., and/or your pinion teeth and ring gear teeth might not be coming together correctly.

The pinion should only have 15 to 18 inch pounds of rotational force to turn, nut tightened to 175 ft lbs with new bearings, or at least that is what I use with no problems.

Jason
Old 08-25-2007, 08:03 AM

Last photo:

Now the noise is on cruise