Ford Bronco 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2003, 08:36 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Ford Bronco 2

The Bronco 2 has a 2.9 v6, and it will not run without flooding itself out with the TPS sensor plugged in. I can unplug the sensor and it will run, but very rough. I was wondering if I could take off the throttle body and put on an intake and carb, and do away with the computer system completly???, will it still pass inspection??? Someone please me I am getting really frustrated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2003, 01:07 PM
aka Duke of URL
 
Last wiki edit: Finding vacuum leaks Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 4,821
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Why not just have the ECM scanned and see what is wrong with the system? It would be much easier and cheaper than tearing the EEC and FI off. I am not sure if there is even a carb manifold available for that series. And, according to how tough the state emission laws (it is definetley a no-no Federal) are, you will make the vehicle illegal to operate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2003, 08:25 PM
Andrew7dg's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 92
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

there is no intake for the 2.9L. accually it is a pretty good fuel injected system to be running on the engine. Like said before just have the computer scanned. I could be wrong because i don't know much about the engine but have the O2 sencer checked. I know when those go out the computer system floods the engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2003, 03:28 AM
Pontiac Knowledge Base Editor
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gleason, WI
Age: 44
Posts: 167
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

On the drivers side of the intake on the rear there is a fuel pressure regulator. That is the problem. It takes 15 minutes to replace it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-13-2011, 09:57 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: N.C.
Age: 74
Posts: 241
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cruz London
The Bronco 2 has a 2.9 v6, and it will not run without flooding itself out with the TPS sensor plugged in. I can unplug the sensor and it will run, but very rough. I was wondering if I could take off the throttle body and put on an intake and carb, and do away with the computer system completly???, will it still pass inspection??? Someone please me I am getting really frustrated.

An't FI nice as for inspection just take it to some one you know or find one of your buddy's that knows some one. About all they do on the older models is jack them up off the grown,look at the tires and pipes to make sure they an't about to fall off,smile take your money and wish you well. They like the older one's as all but about $.50 goes in there tilt. Don't have to hock there computer to them. IF it will run w/out the TPS sensor sound like the sensor is the trouble BUT it may a FORD only part your local Advance or who ever you use for parts can tell you.good luck. Oh I did have to replace one on my MUSTANG a 2000 model and FORD only replacement part.

OLDROD
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2011, 04:34 AM
willowbilly3's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Body mods
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Black Hills, South Dakota
Age: 61
Posts: 1,208
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
2.9, probably still OBD1, not 2. No data stream from the computer, you have to use a break out box to extract the info other then blinking the codes. Almost all of the components can be checked with a DVOM. If you are going to start throwing parts at it without a proper diagnosis, start with the O2 sensor because those should be changed once in a while anyway, just like spark plugs.
A simple fuel pressure test would show if you need the regulator.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.