Ford Flathead Engine Problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-06-2008, 11:22 AM
1940 Ford Coupe Flathead V8

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Ford Flathead Engine Problems

221 in a 40 Ford Coupe. I have 2 new stromberg 97s on it, offy intake, offy heads, 3/4 cam. Rebuilt dist and coil, 6 volt system, rebuilt Generator. Engine will not start. Was Idling and backfiring...then quit running. It felt like it lost fire, but it seems to be getting fire and fuel. Any ideas? I am new to the flathead and could really use some help. I am attaching a couple of engine pics.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1940_ford_coupe_18.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	144.0 KB
ID:	26698   Click image for larger version

Name:	1940_ford_coupe_19.jpg
Views:	239
Size:	125.1 KB
ID:	26699   Click image for larger version

Name:	1940_ford_coupe_27.jpg
Views:	212
Size:	76.1 KB
ID:	26700  

Last edited by 40FordGuy; 01-06-2008 at 12:06 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-06-2008, 11:32 AM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40FordGuy
221 in a 40 Ford Coupe. I have 2 new stromberg 97s on it, offy intake, offy heads, 3/4 cam. Rebuilt dist and coil, 6 volt system, rebuilt Generator. Engine will not start. Was Idling and backfiring...then quit running. It felt like it lost fire, but it seems to be getting fire and fuel. Any ideas? I am new to the fathead and could really use some help. I am attaching a couple of engine pics.
Is the distributor installed correctly? It might be 180 degrees out. Been there done that!

Antny
Old 01-06-2008, 11:50 AM

Last photo:

Hi AntnyL

I will try that right now and see if it works. Anything is possible..LOL
Old 01-06-2008, 12:20 PM