Ford Truck Steering woes - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-07-2003, 05:21 AM
former member of HR.com

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Post Ford Truck Steering woes

Hello,

I'm kinda new to the rodding world, and I've noticed our boards have the tendency to lean toward the SBC, which is OK with my Firebird, but I now have a Ford question.

Are there any difinitive answers regarding the steering "slop," or excessive play, that seems to notably plague the 1970's F100, F150, F250 and F350 model pickups? I have checked out a couple Ford truck web sites, but it seems the solutions are "hit or miss." To me it seems this problem is about as common as the SBC problem of "won't start when hot" and seems to have about as many different types of potential solutions.

In this 1975 F100 project truck I just picked up, I have about 1/5 of a full steering wheel turn in play. I've noticed some "unusual" bends or wrinkles at the knuckle where the steering shaft attaches to the power steering gearbox, but I don't know what that's supposed to look like on a Ford truck. I was under the impression that the 4-bolt circular face of the joint should be flat or flush where they meet, but it is not. I also noticed that the box does leak on the bottom side. So the power steering box seems like my first candidate for trouble.