Found a car need help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-11-2006, 03:47 PM
Don't worry I'm a Professional

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Found a car need help

Ok gentlemen i think i finally found a car. In tech class we are doing a custom 99 Mustang. Its going to be Black with Pearl White Stripes. One problem its a 6. Whats involved in switching out to an 8. Now not to be a pain i need pretty much all the parts an infor i can get. From what i heard Trans, Engine (obviously), Mounts. The teach is selling at 5 grand to the student so just curious.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-12-2006, 01:37 PM

Last photo:

So, what or you asking? Is $5K a good price for everything you need to put this car on the road with a V-8? If so, What is the engine, tranny, etc that ya'll are getting for your money?
Old 10-12-2006, 03:25 PM

Its easier and cheaper to just find a 99 gt for 6-7k. If you are going to swap everything its a pain. Engine, tranny, computer, computer harness, complete fuel system, complete hydraboost system since a 4.6 won't clear a booster, ac compressor and lines, exhaust, throttle and cruise cables, hoses, motor mounts, and much more. If you are set on doing the swap find a wrecked gt that already has all the parts to swap.
Old 10-12-2006, 05:26 PM
http://teamrfc.gospelcom.net

Last photo:

You could put a procharger on it. I dont know much about the 1999 6 cyl, but procharger makes a supercharger/ intercooler kit for the new V6's that puts down ~330 hp at the wheels with no other mods.

Check this out:
http://www.procharger.com/FORD/ford_auto.shtml

Adam
Old 10-12-2006, 08:59 PM

Last photo:

Quote:
Originally Posted by firestone