Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Hotrodding Basics (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/hotrodding-basics/)
-   -   frame swap for 1950 chevy truck (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/frame-swap-1950-chevy-truck-136350.html)

truck1950 04-03-2008 05:14 PM

frame swap for 1950 chevy truck

I have a 1950 five window Chevy pickup, can anyone tell me if there is another frame that I can use other than an S-10 to put my truck on? Will any of the short bed Chevy trucks work? or are there any car frames that might work? I would like to find a car or truck frame that will work that has front and rear disc brakes, and power steering and gas tank. Some one stole my "A" frame, bed and running boards from a friends house where I was prepping them.

If anyone can help me with this it would be greatly appreciated. Also I am a Computer Graphic designer of 18 years, and I would be willing to ****** ** **** *** * ***** ** *******. Thanks!
In Christ Care
truck1950

Henry Highrise 04-03-2008 06:01 PM

Frame swaps are a lot of work. No frame will just work for you...you have to make it work and there is lots of work to do...lots of welding and fab work. If you have the tools and equipment and are good at welding and fabrication, etc. Go for it but otherwise...IMHO...the best thing to do is use your 50 Chevy pick-up frame...upgrade it. You can put IFS on the front with disc brakes...you can box the rails for strength. *** Please use the Classifieds on this site to place a free ad for your barter or trade. Advertiseing for that is just not allowed on the boards.

truck1950 04-03-2008 06:24 PM

Thanks

Thanks, that's a great idea but some one stole my "A" frame and at this point I have no idea where to buy a replacement. Also prefab IFS and IRS suspension are very expensive. At this time I am not financially able to go in that direction.