Freeze Plugs - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 09:13 AM
American Muscle's Avatar
305 Turbo-Fire 240hp
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: under the hood
Age: 31
Posts: 625
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Freeze Plugs

Got a sbc needing freeze plugs and the main one need replacing is over the motor mount on driver side. What is the best way of changing it out. Theres also one out behind the starter. I have never replaced any before so im doing a little research before getting started. Any help is greatly needed

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:26 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 38
Posts: 183
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
2 ways that I have done it - first way is using a slide hammer. Punch a hole in the freeze plug, screw in the slide hammer and pull it out. Sometimes using this method you could actually push the plug all the way into the water jacket - in this case, I was able to fish it out using a magnet on a length of wire (if the plug is steel), and then pulled it out with pliers.

Another way to do it is use a screwdriver or something else and hammer on the plug on one side, only. This will hopefully turn the plug within the bore and you'll be able to wedge or pull it out with a pair of pliers or channel locks. If this pushes the whole plug into the water jacket, see above

When installing a freeze plug, use a large socket that fits inside the plug's depression, or I've also used a seal driver that's larger than the plug to get it flush against the block (then a socket to push it in a hair). Use a sealant on the plug edges and you should be good to go once the sealant sets up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Plymouth, CT
Posts: 141
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
freeze plug

If one is bad I would consider repacing them all- probably all the same age and exposed to the same conditions. Jim
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:25 AM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,373
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts
freeze plugs......

HI,replace the plugs with BRASS freeze plugs ONLY.they will last almost forever.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 11:35 AM
American Muscle's Avatar
305 Turbo-Fire 240hp
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: under the hood
Age: 31
Posts: 625
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I bought the truck after a buddy built the motor and didnt put brass freeze plugs in and now doesnt want to change them. So I got the truck off his hands. So the motor has never been drivin but its in the truck. will the motor need to come all the way out. sounds like lots of work for so little a part.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 12:05 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: bc
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by boatbob2
HI,replace the plugs with BRASS freeze plugs ONLY.they will last almost forever.
and they look sooo sexy too
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 01:01 PM
American Muscle's Avatar
305 Turbo-Fire 240hp
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: under the hood
Age: 31
Posts: 625
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
What size do I need? Are they all the same diameter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:41 PM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT
 

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 8
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brimstone

When installing a freeze plug, use a large socket that fits inside the plug's depression,
Make sure the socket is a bit loose in the freeze plug. If it fits to nice in the plug while it is out of the block then it is going to be stuck really good when you drive the plug in. Really good!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:44 PM
weirdbeard's Avatar
1976 Ranchero GT
 

Last journal entry: Almost time for the first drive!
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ala BAMA! (Gump)
Age: 8
Posts: 1,454
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by American Muscle
What size do I need? Are they all the same diameter?
I can't remember.. You can just measure the hole in the block.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:54 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 564
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
http://store.summitracing.com/partde...0&autoview=sku
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2009, 05:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: lexington
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i jsut replaced the same feeze plug on my motor. this is the way i did it. i just took the bolt holding the mount to the frame out and used a motor hoist to tilt the motor towards the passenger side just be careful not ot go too far. then you can take the three bolts out that hold the motor mount bracket to the block and on my car i had to go thru the fender well to get it out and back in. Took bout a hour to do mine its not as hard as it looks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Is The 'Right Way' To Install Freeze Plugs ? SCHOONER Hotrodding Basics 26 01-16-2011 09:44 AM
DO THEY MAKE "CYLINDER HEAD BRASS FREEZE PLUGS ? SCHOONER Engine 12 02-05-2009 07:28 PM
FREEZE PLUGS ~ DO YOU or DON'T YOU ? SCHOONER Engine 25 09-17-2006 05:10 PM
Freeze Plugs..... 1Fast65Elky Engine 29 02-22-2006 05:57 PM
freeze plugs regaldude Engine 5 09-07-2004 01:07 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.