Fresh built engine overheating on startup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2011, 12:34 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Fresh built engine overheating on startup

Hello,

preface: I am new to this so please bare with me.

I attempted to start my 468 for the first time today and could not do the cam breakin because my engine is overheating in like 2-3 minutes. I am not sure if this has to do with the engine timing, radiator, or overbore .060. I don't think it could be the overbore because it is overheating so fast (within 2-3 min).

I have not attempted the set the timing yet because i wanted to make sure the cam was broke in first.

*All components are new nothing reused
*454 gen 4 block .060 over
*Using gibs break-in oil and comp camps breakin additive
*using long water pump
*1 gallon antifreeze, water wetter, and water
*160 deg thermostat (pretty sure it is working because the upper raditor hose gets hot after the engine gets to temp)
*running electric fan (always on)
*I filled the block up with coolant before install the heater hose.
*aftermarket timing ledger

My setup:
- +18 domed forged pistons
-990 open chamber heads 118cc
-holley 850 double pumper
-cam xe274h-10 (flat tappet)
-9:6:1 compression
-hedman full length headers

1. Could the timing be retarded and causing the engine to overheat so fast?
2. Is it okay to set the timing when i am running the motor between 2000-2500 rpm
3. what should i set the timing too?
4. which direction do i turn the distributor to advance the timing?
5. i hate to put the cart before the horse, but how much hp should i expect with my setup
6. could my carb be too lean, do they tune these things to be rich from the factory?

Thanks for your help.

bendiesel

Advertisement