Front motor plate without a mid-plate? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2004, 11:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Front motor plate without a mid-plate?

I need help on getting a definitive answer on the following. Basically can I run a front motor plate only without a mid-plate? Some people have told me yes some no. I have a 69 pro street Camaro (BBC) that currently has a front plate and mid-plate and trans mount, the problem is that I cannot change the oil filter without great difficulty. I have to loosen the giant Hedman hustler 2 1/4 ď headers from the head (flanges have been individual cut for each exhaust port connection) and then remove the collector to push the pipes out of the way and even then itís a very tight fit. My option is to run a remote oil filter re-location set up but is that really a good idea or can I remove the mid-plate. This is mostly a street driven car with close to 700 horse power. I found all this out after buying the car.

Thanks in advance to any responses.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2004, 11:07 PM
Crazy Mopar Guy's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HotRodCity, Canada
Posts: 456
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I ran my Demon for years and years with only elephant ears on the front. No midplate.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2004, 11:17 PM
Pony's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lynnwood, Wa.
Age: 68
Posts: 721
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
With the horsepower your putting out I'd go with the remote filter setup. It's a quick easy fix and they work well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2004, 05:09 AM
deuce_454's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 1,000
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
if you are running a transmission mount you can do away with the mid plate all together. im running a 600+ Hp BBC with a front plate and trannymount, and i love all the room i have for lines, headers and so on. 3 rigid mounts will actually put a bigger strain on your engine/tranny connection than 2 will.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2004, 05:33 AM
STUPID is as STUPID does...
 
Last wiki edit: Crankshaft Coalition Wiki Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Stupidville, USA
Posts: 1,738
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 11
Thanked 86 Times in 80 Posts
What transmission are you running? It's not recommended to hang the motor & trans off the front and rear mounts when running an automatic. I had to put sidemounts in my '56 because the bell housing on the th400 kept cracking. I was told this was due to using the front pancake mounts and the span was to great. After I put in the side mounts I never had a problem... Just something to think about.
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-09-2004, 06:59 PM
MoPar Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Beautiful Downtown Florida
Age: 71
Posts: 44
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mid Plate is nice but not mandatory. I run a Super Gas Duster and have never had a problem. The car has over 5 seasons on the drive train with only a yearly freshen up.

'cudabob
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2004, 07:13 AM
deuce_454's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Age: 39
Posts: 1,000
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
if you bring out the calculator the strain on the transmission bellhousing really isnt that big, if you only take the engine and transmission weight into account. but if your engine isnt very well balanced the oscilating movement will result in cracke from metal fatigue relatively quickly in the aluminum. and once a crack has formed, it will spread quickly
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2011, 11:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Oswego, Il.
Posts: 22
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Oil filter

Have you thought about maybe installing a remote oil filter? You can put them someplace convenient to get at and you can use more than one in series.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2011, 02:58 PM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,375
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
hi.......

Hi,remote oli filter is the only way to go,i use the adapter that uses 2 filters...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2011, 01:10 PM
TurboS10's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Auto Terms and Definitions Used in Modern Engine T... Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Age: 37
Posts: 3,463
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by astroracer
What transmission are you running? It's not recommended to hang the motor & trans off the front and rear mounts when running an automatic. I had to put sidemounts in my '56 because the bell housing on the th400 kept cracking. I was told this was due to using the front pancake mounts and the span was to great. After I put in the side mounts I never had a problem... Just something to think about.
Mark
Curious; was the transmission solid or poly mounted? My bet is solid?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2011, 08:14 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, Wa
Posts: 7,025
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 516 Times in 436 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steam Roller
I need help on getting a definitive answer on the following. Basically can I run a front motor plate only without a mid-plate? Some people have told me yes some no. I have a 69 pro street Camaro (BBC) that currently has a front plate and mid-plate and trans mount, the problem is that I cannot change the oil filter without great difficulty. I have to loosen the giant Hedman hustler 2 1/4 ? headers from the head (flanges have been individual cut for each exhaust port connection) and then remove the collector to push the pipes out of the way and even then it?s a very tight fit. My option is to run a remote oil filter re-location set up but is that really a good idea or can I remove the mid-plate. This is mostly a street driven car with close to 700 horse power. I found all this out after buying the car.

Thanks in advance to any responses.
I prefer a mid plate. The engine and transmission makes a pretty long assembly that wants to sag in the middle putting a bending moment on everything. As has been mentioned, use a remote filter.

Bogie
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2011, 09:33 AM
Banned User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2011
Location: N.E.
Posts: 385
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
i'll try to find where i read that not using a mid-plate (i don't like them either) puts strain on the trans tailmount. i think not using a mid-plate is do-able though with a smallblock. i think i would want to use one with a BB and hi-power though. Can you provide a picture of the situation?


2) Speaking of mid-plates. They lengthen the distance between the trans and engine----thus the converter is actually 1/8" (or however thick the plate is) further out of the input shaft. Is this okay?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2011, 09:52 AM
hughj's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pennsylvania
Age: 67
Posts: 41
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I run a 69 Camaro Pro Street bbc (502) with front plate only. 10 years now with no issues. I don't baby it either.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2011, 11:56 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: kansas
Posts: 274
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
I would run the midplate. run washers behind flywheel the same size as the midplate for the converter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.