Fuel Cell-Tube Type Fuel Level Sending Units - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2005, 03:45 PM
Stupido1's Avatar
74 NovaSS
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: phoenix
Age: 27
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fuel Cell-Tube Type Fuel Level Sending Units

I am looking at Fuel Cells for my 1974 Nova with a SBC 350. The gas tank is leaking so I figured this was a good excuse to get a Fuel Cell.

These Fuel Cells i am looking at come with or without fuel-sending units aleardy installed. Does a Fuel Cell need a sending unit? Do I install one if the cell doesn't come with one? Am I better off buying a cell with the sending unit? I am kind of in the dark here about this. If someone could help out, that'd be great.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2005, 04:42 PM
camaroman7d's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Vacaville, California
Age: 47
Posts: 2,245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Perfect timing I am in the process of building my own fuel cell. So lets see if I can help.

If you want to know how much gas is in the cell, then you need a sending unit. There are a lot of cells that come with sending units installed. Usually the 16 and 20 gallon sizes have that option.

There are different types of sending units, the tube type is perfect if you plan to use foam in your cell (or buy a cell that is foam filled). The foam controls slosh and helps keep the fuel where you want it. The lever type (similar to a stock sneding unit) will not work if you use a foam filled cell. The float will get caught on the foam.

You can also buy the sending unit seperately and dependning on the type they cost between ~$40 and $80. Yes, you can add one to a cell that doesn't have one.

There are also different rated sending units (in ohms). For your Chevy you need a 90ohm sending unit (0-90) for your gauge to read accurately.

I hope that helps.

Royce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2005, 06:55 PM
Stupido1's Avatar
74 NovaSS
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: phoenix
Age: 27
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
so, let me see if I am hearing this right. If you don't need to know how much fuel is in the fuel cell, then you do not need a sending unit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-11-2005, 07:31 PM
coldknock's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Social Circle, Ga.
Age: 43
Posts: 1,531
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yup, and if you want to know how much is in it you'll need a sending unit. That is if you don't want to open the trunk, pop the cap and dip a stick in it every other day.

Larry
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fuel Pump Not Sending Gas To Carb Why?? Its Not Electric Fuel Pump???? zeeman19 Engine 7 02-13-2007 04:17 PM
fuel level sending unit question mike bryan Electrical 3 12-04-2004 11:48 AM
Various GM sending units . . . need help. Siggy_Freud Electrical 2 09-25-2004 07:40 PM
fuel level sender?? nova33 Electrical 3 02-08-2004 05:47 PM
Fuel Cell location? jamnut General Rodding Tech 0 06-15-2003 11:12 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.