fuel gauge - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-07-2009, 10:09 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: gibson la
Posts: 20
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fuel gauge

I PUT A AFTER MARKET FUEL GAUGE IN MY 1980 CAMARO .HOW DO I WIRE IT USEING FACTORY SENTING UNIT AND WIRING

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-07-2009, 10:25 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Please do not post with your caps lock on, it's considered screaming.

Did you after market fuel gage not come with instructions and a sending unit? If you are trying to use an after market fuel gage with an OEM sending unit you will have to modify the OEM sending unit to the proper resistance the after market gage operates at.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-07-2009, 11:16 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,537
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 148 Times in 135 Posts
I'll echo what Vince said. The fuel gauge requires a specific sending unit resistance to operate properly. If you got lucky and happen to have a gauge that uses a sender with the same resistance as stock, you should be able to wire it up using the same wires as stock. If you have a gauge that requires a sender with a different resistance, you need to get the correct sender for that gauge and install it in the tank.

Depending on the resistance of the stock sender and the requirements of the gauge, you MIGHT be able to build a voltage divider circuit to match the old sender to the new gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aftermarket fuel gauge frank88chevy Electrical 1 04-26-2008 06:48 AM
Fuel Gauge Problem...68 firebird SouthernRodder Electrical 2 05-11-2007 04:46 PM
Fuel gauge help dpjim2 Electrical 7 05-27-2006 03:16 PM
fuel gauge wiring flamedfordbronco Electrical 4 07-26-2005 05:46 PM
inline fuel pressure gauge? Jag Daddy Engine 3 05-28-2003 08:39 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.