fuel gauge still full - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2009, 01:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: hawthorne, n.j.
Age: 62
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fuel gauge still full

I dropped the tank and ran a grnd wire from a center brass term in the middle of the sender ( I figured that was the grnd term) to the body. The connection at the body was bare metal. Put the tank back up with no gas in it turned on the key and pegged the gauge. Maybe that center terminal is not a grnd terminal? Should I have connected the wire to a sender mounting screw? Thanks Joe

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2009, 02:27 PM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,372
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
gas guage.......

Hi ,YES that brass threaded part is for the line to the guage. use a screw that holds the sender into the tank,and run your ground wire to the chassis.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2009, 04:01 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Portland,Or
Posts: 838
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 43 Times in 37 Posts
Yes, what boatbob said about the center terminal is for the sender connection on the gauge.
I would suggest running a ground wire all the way from a sender mounting screw to a ground connection on the gauge.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-08-2009, 04:40 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: hawthorne, n.j.
Age: 62
Posts: 76
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Damm, I had it wired completely wrong. There is a spade connector on the sender that should have been wired to grnd, not the gauge. Thanks, Joe
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can oil pressure gauge be used for fuel pressure? Arrowhead Engine 37 05-27-2008 03:35 PM
fuel pressure gauge Jerry-64 Chevelle General Rodding Tech 3 01-15-2008 12:26 PM
Guages are dead gtipton Electrical 4 05-09-2007 09:14 PM
Fuel gauge problems 1969NovaSS Electrical 5 05-04-2006 11:42 PM
Fuel system q, dry at the carb, but fuel bows full? killerformula Engine 6 09-18-2004 06:07 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.