Fuel sending unit - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2011, 06:12 PM
B.A.M.F
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Age: 27
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Fuel sending unit

i know this isnt hot rod related but it has to do with my current project im working on, im trying to find the STOCK ohms for the sending unit in the diesel tank, i just put 2 new side saddle tanks on and the sending unit provided doesn't read the way the original does. After taking readings on the original i came up with 140.+ Ohms resistance i dont remember the smaller #, the new sending unit has a resistance of 93Ohms on the high side and almost 0 on the low which would explain why the fuel gauge only read to half a tank even though the float is all the way up. so my train of thought leads me to believe that i need a higher resistance sending unit to get proper readings, does this sound like reasonable thinking?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	truck.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	143.6 KB
ID:	58735  

    Advertisement

Last edited by UPandComing; 10-01-2011 at 06:26 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2011, 07:24 PM
Cape Cod Bob's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: How to title a hot rod Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 1,128
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 19 Posts
The sender ohms need to match the gauge ohms. The guage may be marked. However it looks like a newer truck and the guage could be electronic and I don't know if they would be the same. Anyway I would try getting a sender for that specific truck manufacturer.
Do a search on here and you should find some info. I know you could try to add resistors to ground in different combinations but might not be perfect. Luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2011, 07:31 PM
B.A.M.F
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New York
Age: 27
Posts: 252
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks bob ill take that in mind and it is a 2003 so more than likely an electronic gauge,i would have posted somewhere else but i like this family more
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-02-2011, 11:04 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 1,762
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 4
Thanked 66 Times in 64 Posts
I would connect an OBD-II tool to the truck and find out what gauge reading is being calculated by the computer. Its possible that the sending unit and computer reading are fine, and the problem is in the stepper motor for the gauge.

Some of the GM electronic clusters use gauge stepper motors that fail (My 2005 Mustang has the same setup). When they fail they don't zero properly and they can't show the correct reading from the computer. There is a guy on eBay that sells replacement GM and Ford stepper motors. They are relatively easy to replace if you have some basic soldering skills, and the motors themselves are under $10.

Bruce
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fuel sending unit? whojohnjones Engine 6 07-24-2010 09:18 PM
Fuel sending unit cover (fuel cell) heyjude076 General Rodding Tech 0 05-21-2008 06:35 AM
fuel sending unit oldsmobilekindofguy Electrical 6 07-09-2007 06:34 PM
fuel sending unit ksm Electrical 3 07-28-2004 12:08 PM
Fuel Sending Unit Wiring For Fuel Cells nightrain_rod Electrical 6 01-03-2004 08:24 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.