fuse for relay power? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2011, 11:47 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 88
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fuse for relay power?

i am rewiring my '65 chevy C-10, do i need to install fuses for each of the 5 relays? ( headlights, fuel pump, radiator fan, ignition, horn )
Not the devices, that's common sense,but the power to the relay from the battery
Thank you for the help

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2011, 11:58 AM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 71
Posts: 1,344
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
All wiring must be protected by a fuse. The load determines the wire size. The fuse is sized to protect the wire and the load.
The load of a relay coil is very small so #18 wire could be used but the fuse needs to be 10 amp. This 10 amp circuit can be used for all the relays.
Or, the relay coil circuit can be powered by an existing circuit having the proper fuse size. Interior lighting for example.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2011, 12:00 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: williamston sc
Posts: 319
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You can install a fusable link that feeds the power to be on the safe side.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-27-2011, 07:08 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Boise, ID
Age: 70
Posts: 82
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Fuse Block

Consider this; an auxiliary fuse panel, like shown in the attached link. I prefer fuses, as opposed to a fusable link, because you'll never be stranded when using fuses, as they are readily available; not necessarily so with fusable links. Attachment:

http://www.aumih.info/Tips/fuseblock.html

NAPA is a good source for the fuse block shown; smaller sizes are also available.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2011, 08:34 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
All relay power should be fused. As mentioned the coil of a relay is very low current, usually around 250ma. A 10 amp fuse as mentioned should power all the realys you have with capacity to spare.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NO power to fuse panel slider in wa Electrical 10 08-26-2008 11:46 AM
Power Seat relay hduff Electrical 3 07-07-2008 10:19 PM
Problem with power to the fuse box agent spliff Electrical 2 03-12-2007 04:40 PM
relay harness not getting power? arch Electrical 8 11-22-2004 10:54 PM
power window relay banditedtion Electrical 1 08-13-2003 10:38 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.