Fuses-Circuit Braker or Fuesable link? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2010, 10:09 PM
solidaxel's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Project garage complete!
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Arizona
Posts: 558
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Fuses-Circuit Braker or Fuesable link?

OK, I am connecting my main circuits to a connecting block what is the best protection for the 8 and 10Ga. Alt to starter and main circuit to the fuse panel?

I understand MAD Electronics explanation, but have heard other opinions, so lets hear them all !!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-25-2010, 10:42 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Lorenzo, CA
Posts: 39
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The best protection is probably a 50 amp maxifuse. A fuseable link will be hard to replace; mine is buried in the wiring harness. Ron Francis catalog has pictures of one going off, it would make quite a mess and be tough to replace on the road. With a maxifuse you have to find a place to mount the fuse holder. On my current build I mounted it vert low on the firewall close to the solenoid, it's out of the way but easy to change if needed. Hope this helps, Dave
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 06:43 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,849
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 181 Times in 163 Posts
I too have read the MAD write up but tend to agree with Ron Francis instead about the fuse link and installed a Maxi-Fuse. I carry a couple spares and can change it out in a couple minutes rather then dig around for a failed link. If there's a big fault, I'll know immediately - then can call the roll back . Then the fun of changing a link out on the road.........not gonna happen. It's call the roll back first then repair the link.

Dave W
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 07:03 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
MaxiFuse, I do not like fusible links for that level of power.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 07:16 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
X4 on a fuse. Before you use whatever amp fuse, add the loads that it will see plus a bit of cushion extra. IMHO, don't just use whatever fuse falls to hand, amp-wise.

I believe the fusable link was used by the OEM because of cost, not because it is better.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 08:37 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327

I believe the fusable link was used by the OEM because of cost, not because it is better.
Bingo

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 11:14 AM
solidaxel's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Project garage complete!
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Arizona
Posts: 558
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Looks like a Maxi fuse for this project,
Just returned from the hot rod shop with a LARGE fuse holder and a 70 amp fuse !!
Now I know why the OE's used fuse links $$$$$
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 11:16 AM
solidaxel's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Project garage complete!
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Arizona
Posts: 558
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327
X4 on a fuse. Before you use whatever amp fuse, add the loads that it will see plus a bit of cushion extra. IMHO, don't just use whatever fuse falls to hand, amp-wise.

I believe the fusable link was used by the OEM because of cost, not because it is better.


Do they make a 90 amp fuse?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 11:19 AM
solidaxel's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Project garage complete!
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Arizona
Posts: 558
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I stopped at the stereo store and all they had was Large glass fuse, with a holder that had a set screw to bite into the copper but I went with the crimp and lug connector for the screw on blade type.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 11:27 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by solidaxel
Do they make a 90 amp fuse?
I see them up to 80 amp.

Last edited by cobalt327; 07-26-2010 at 12:32 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 11:53 AM
OLNOLAN's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,033
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 247
Thanked 76 Times in 66 Posts
Link

Here's a link to whats out there on the automotive fuse market;
http://www.wiringproducts.com/contents/en-us/d96.html
olnolan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 12:21 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 582
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 78
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
I use both maxi-fuses (actually mega-fuses) and fuselinks. The idea being that every inch of the wire needs to be protected, and if you use a maxi or a mega fuse, the wire from there to whatever is feeding it (solenoid, battery, or whatever) is still unprotected, and if a short was to occur there it would melt the wire and possibly cause other damage.

I have read the Ron Francis position and because I had never seen a fuse link burn up in the manner they show, it prompted me to do some testing of my own. I used my battery load tester to put a known load on the fuselink. What I found is the fuse links I use don't burst into flames, but they do give off quite a bit of smoke. Another thing I found is that it takes about 300 amps to smoke a 12 gauge fuse link. So I would never use a fuse link INSIDE a car, but I do use them because it is the only way to protect every inch of the wire.

Hope this helps...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 03:53 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
My Maxi Fuse is located in the trunk as is my battery. The Maxi Fuse is less than a foot from the battery and the "unprotected" wire is only about 6" long.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 04:55 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,849
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 13
Thanked 181 Times in 163 Posts
This in the trunk is where my battery, maxi fuse - 2 of them. One for the AAW module, the other for the start circuit, starter switch (solenoid is on the starter) and the master switch is located. The trunk lift is on an unswitched circuit (this 'messy' wiring along with the Battery Tender has been neatened up since the photo was taken).

The AAW module is by wire length about 18" away just behind that upholstered panel, the start circuit, 6-8"

__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-26-2010, 05:04 PM
65ELCMO's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Tucson,AZ
Posts: 178
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Bob, Did you buy anything yet? Clyde had a maxi fuse holder made by Littlefuse that can be moumted whatever you need it. I am going to see if Don, The guy with the mobile service, can get us some. I'll show it to you when I get back home. Steve
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Wiring Harness" docvette Electrical 185 10-30-2011 04:17 PM
Maxi fuses esahlin Electrical 1 07-03-2009 01:57 PM
1996 ford tarus coolant fan circuit mike 96 ws6 Electrical 4 03-06-2007 02:39 PM
*glossary Of Basic Electrical Terms* docvette Electrical 2 04-28-2006 07:27 PM
Circuit Breaker replacents for fuses Jag Daddy Electrical 3 05-02-2004 05:02 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.