Gas gauge problems - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2010, 03:54 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,914
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 14
Thanked 205 Times in 186 Posts
Gas gauge problems

My gas gauge is, to say the least, disappointing. It worked - kinda - when it was new, but now, nothing. The gauge appears to check out using the installation sheet diagnosis instructions so that leaves the sending unit.

When I check the sending unit ohm output, it reads 7.2. With a tank that's 3/4's full, it probably should read in the 130 ohm range. This sending unit is a 10 (empty) to 180 (full tank) ohm unit. Before you ask, grounds and connections are solid. My question is - anyone here have a problem with VDO tank senders? They aren't particularly expensive at about $26+ shipping from Summit, but - dang I'm getting tired of replacing brand new parts that don't work as advertised. I can make enough of my own expensive screw ups and suffer the dollar consequences, but .......

Dave W

    Advertisement
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2010, 05:08 PM
Joe G's Avatar
Registered user
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: St. Paul, MN
Age: 40
Posts: 598
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 80
Thanked 38 Times in 37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irelands child
....My question is - anyone here have a problem with VDO tank senders?.....
Sounds like a ground....just kidding.

I've had problems with aftermarket gas gauge senders too, and not just VDO. Seems like maybe 1 in 4 doesn't last a year. On the bright side, it seems like 3 out of 4 are just fine and last for years without any problems.

Good luck...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2010, 06:37 PM
pnt4u2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
VDO no!

Had problems w/my VDO guage a while back. Dropped tank and found condensation in tank causing rust on sending unit and the unit was in 90 degrees out. It should have been installed to operate left to right not forward to back. That allowed fuel to slosh float and unit around while driving. I changed out unit with a unit from Summit, installed unit left to right and haven't had a problem. I do use HEAT fuel additive from time to time to "dry up" my fuel. Just in case. Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2010, 06:59 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,914
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 14
Thanked 205 Times in 186 Posts
Guys - anything helps. I just ordered a replacement from Summit.

Now as far as condensation - maybe, but probably not since it has never been much good for giving me a real reading. As far as orientation - there is only on way it can go in this '32 tank as it would interfere with the pick up.

Joe - I too would have said ground - except the reading was ----7.2 ohms hooked straight to the battery neg terminal which is about 18" away and in the trunk of the car or to the normal ground

Dave W
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2010, 10:19 AM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,914
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 14
Thanked 205 Times in 186 Posts
Well while waiting for Wednesday's delivery of my gas tank sending unit, I decided to see why my tach was 'lazy'. It looks like MSD and VDO can't get their acts together. MSD says I need an adapter as did the original instructions I received from VDO. WRONG!!! That $50 gadget just ain't needed and the latest VDO instructions I pulled off the web also say that. The VDO dip switch settings were wrong as well. With my MSD 6A box, my settings turned out to be OFF-OFF-OFF. It took about an hour of fussin, but 'ain't it fun'. Of course that adapter is so buried in the dash that unless I pull the cowl cover, it will not see the light of day.

Dave W
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 02:44 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,914
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 14
Thanked 205 Times in 186 Posts
Interesting repair to say the least. The amount of corrosion on the gas sender would have to be seen to believe. I know that I got one tank of less then stellar gas (Hess 93 octane - smelled real strange and the car ran crappy) but since then it has had only three buck plus/gallon Mobil. The amount of ethanol currently in the gas is my guess as to some of my problem as that corrosion appearance is not what I would expect from water. Makes me wonder what my carb innards will look like in a year or so.

The new sending unit works like a charm, the old one after being cleaned will now be a spare as it too works just fine. Sure am glad that I made a tank access hatch when I built the car

Dave W
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 03:32 PM
mud.man.rj's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: canada
Posts: 379
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
crazy gauges

Glad you got it figured ouy elect is a time consumer isn't it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 03:46 PM
Irelands child's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 4,914
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 14
Thanked 205 Times in 186 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mud.man.rj
Glad you got it figured ouy elect is a time consumer isn't it.
I don't have a problem when I make a mistake, but this was material that was new and didn't 'hack it'.

Oh well, the tach now works, the gas gauge works right and so do all the rest of them I might even go for a ride tomorrow!!!

Dave W
__________________
Irelands child
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 10-27-2010, 06:06 PM
pnt4u2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 25
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rust source?

Just an after thought. I found after I dropped my tank for the VDO sending unit, I also had some aliens in my tank too. I cleaned and coated my tank while I had it out and again not a problem since. Ethynol, water or whatever made the rust. It's gone for now. I am glad you found the problem.
Happy cruisin'
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose my gas gauge? wave1957 Electrical 2 08-28-2008 09:00 PM
Gas gauge problem Mertz Electrical 2 08-20-2008 01:59 PM
51 chevy truck gas gauge new_rat_rodder Electrical 3 07-15-2008 06:49 AM
Gas gauge not working gothrod87 Electrical 4 06-01-2005 07:26 AM
Gas Tank .... problems 63novawagon Body - Exterior 1 04-25-2004 11:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.