Gas Gauge Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2010, 04:38 PM
Retiredrich's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ashland Nebraska
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gas Gauge Question

This is on my 61. My gas gauge was working okay until I tried to eliminate a different problem. The brown wire on the gauge goes to the sender and the tan to the fuse box. The starter kept barely engaging the starter drive when I shut the engine off so I pulled the ignition switch and removed the pink accessory wire from the switch. This solved the starter drive barely engaging problem but I lost my gas gauge. Prior to buying a new ignition switch, I'm guessing I need to give power from the fuse box to either the brown or tan wire when the ignition switch is turned to on/start. That's my guess, but which one do I need to do it to? Thanks, Rich

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2010, 04:54 PM
66GMC's Avatar
Get in, sit down, hang on
 

Last journal entry: Cab Removal
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Olds, Alberta Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 2,761
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 32
Thanked 90 Times in 85 Posts
Nope.

That wire that goes to the guage is a ground.
If you touch it to bare metal, the guage should read full (or empty) ... whatever is opposite of the guage in "key off" mode, I think.

Something is telling me "Check grounds" ... as that is often the source for a lot of weirdness.

Your negative ground cable from the battery does connect directly to the engine, right? Do you also have a seperate (wired) ground connection from the engine to the frame?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2010, 05:28 PM
Retiredrich's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ashland Nebraska
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gas Gauge Question

Like I said in the beginning. The gauge worked until I eliminated the starter problem so now I just want to know which wire on the gauge wants power. I can either put the accessory wire back on the switch or buy a new switch and the gauge will work again. I want to know how to get the gauge working without putting the wire back on the switch. In other words, not buy a new switch and still have a gas gauge that works.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-06-2010, 06:36 PM
Retiredrich's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Ashland Nebraska
Posts: 62
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gas Gauge Question

I'll go buy a new switch tomorrow. Oreilly's has it in stock.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
using 20 gauge without gas Slickriffs Body - Exterior 9 10-19-2007 08:11 AM
gas gauge help bow tie guy Electrical 3 06-05-2007 02:34 PM
GM Gas gauge poncho62 Electrical 7 01-06-2007 05:06 PM
Strange Question about Gas Fumes & Explosions TheBreeze Hotrodders' Lounge 10 12-11-2005 09:07 PM
my gas gauge dont work....help notmrgoodwrench Electrical 2 09-02-2004 07:41 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.