Gas tank sending unit - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> General Rodding Tech
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-16-2009, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Macedonia, Ohio
Age: 78
Posts: 318
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gas tank sending unit

I have a aluminum cylindrical style gas tank in my Model A. The tank is approx. 25"X10"X10". Any idea how to mount a sending unit in it? It is not fuel injection.
Jerry

    Advertisement

Last edited by fred56; 09-23-2009 at 01:48 PM. Reason: Delete
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2009, 03:45 PM
rwruther's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: new wires for the hot rod 39
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 154
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
what I did

My engine did not require an in tank fuel pump. The "sender" was just a variable resistor with a float mounted on a pivoting arm. When the arm pivots the resistance to ground changes...These things come with resistors sized for the gage and 12 or 6 volt systems. The instructions for the one I bought said to give about an inch below the float at the lowest point in the travel. I guess that's your reserve fuel a? My float arm turned out to be rather short, I figured it might booger up my gage reading, but it doesn't. It works like a champ. I just made sure the thing was in there vertical and the float didn't hit anything, boom-zoom away I went. Hope that helps.

R

PS Oh, I forgot, the float/resistor deal has to be the proper resistance and .... how do I put it?? When the tank goes to empty, some gages want to see more resistance happen, some gages want to see less resistance. You need to kind of match your "sender" to your gas gage and electrical voltage....wait a sec...here's Classic Instruments web site, this will fix you up!

http://www.classicinstruments.com/in...mentID=senders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:09 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,840
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
You will have to have the proper fuel sending unit bung either HeliArced, or TIG'd in place.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:40 PM
rwruther's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: new wires for the hot rod 39
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Michigan
Posts: 154
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 302 Z28
You will have to have the proper fuel sending unit bung either HeliArced, or TIG'd in place.

Vince
Where do we get a bung? ....you know, just in case we need one... (I have a bung now, I guess, but maybe I want to change out my tank and the next one will be um?...bung-less?) thanks! and sorry for assuming there was a bung if my post was lame...I just, you know, thought we had a bung already?

R
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-01-2009, 06:51 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,144
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,331
Thanked 601 Times in 441 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwruther
Where do we get a bung? ....you know, just in case we need one... (I have a bung now, I guess, but maybe I want to change out my tank and the next one will be um?...bung-less?) thanks! and sorry for assuming there was a bung if my post was lame...I just, you know, thought we had a bung already?

R

It can be made very easy, Take a piece of pipe, Weld a cap plate onto the end of the pipe.. It will have to be big enough for the unit to mount to..Cut it down to fit on to the tank.. Like you would be saddling a piece of pipe to another pipe.. Hope this help's..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-03-2009, 10:13 AM
bentwings's Avatar
bentwings
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: St.Paul, Minn
Age: 72
Posts: 1,798
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 15 Posts
I have the aluminum cylindrical one from Speedway. I welded a 1/4 thick aluminum ring inside the tank when I built it. It has tapped holes to mount the sending unit.

Update the dang sending unit failed. The float expanded insid the tube and seized. I took it apart and unstuck up but the board also has an open circuit. It only had gas on it for a year. Don't know where it was made but I can guess.

Looks like another $90 to toss into the swirling black hole. It's getting just like having a boat.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent General Rodding Tech posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Draining gas tank 96 F250 Furytom Engine 2 03-26-2009 11:02 AM
Oil Pressure Switch and Temp Sending unit jvgrago Engine 5 05-23-2008 09:38 PM
Gas Tank 1970 Chevy Camero kan Engine 0 05-21-2006 11:57 AM
universal fuel sending unit for pre-65 chev? murrsue Electrical 6 04-24-2005 04:10 PM
replacing gas tank in 29 Ford pikalpha Engine 2 12-10-2001 04:45 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.