Gas Tank Sending Unit Ground Wire Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-29-2007, 08:27 PM
daveh's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 293
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gas Tank Sending Unit Ground Wire Question

Hey guys,

I am replacing my gas tank on my 69 Camaro. I bought a new one and had it power coated. My question is do I have to attach the sending unit ground wire to the tank like the original or can I just splice it an attach it to another piece of metal or the frame? Thanks

Dave

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2007, 09:00 AM
brian0605's Avatar
mostly confused
 

Last journal entry:
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: central mississippi
Age: 45
Posts: 589
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm pretty sure it's got to be hooked to the tank. If the tank has the strap pads installed on both the top and bottom it is isolated and the voltage to the sender has no path back to ground. Brian
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2007, 11:14 AM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,189
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
I would want the tank grounded to the frame also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodders' Lounge posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
larger compressor gburgess2002 Garage - Tools 13 07-19-2009 09:36 AM
how to connect wiring to sending unit zipfactor Electrical 2 05-12-2006 11:34 AM
sending unit/ gas gauge incompatibility murrsue Electrical 3 03-03-2005 08:02 PM
Gas Tank .... problems 63novawagon Body - Exterior 1 04-25-2004 11:26 AM
need help w/a GAS TANK & sending units TooMany2count General Rodding Tech 10 05-26-2003 07:57 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.