gasser front end - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2003, 08:37 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

gasser front end

Does anyone have any info on what axle, springs and hardware used to build a period correct Willys gasser? For example, the old Stone, Cook and Woods '41 Willys gasser.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-03-2003, 01:36 PM
CORNFED and INBRED !?!

I'm not an expert on this subject by any stretch, but I believe that most gassers used whatever axle they had available! Most used parallel leaf springs but I have seen a number of cross spring frontends on different gassers also! Personally, I would look for either a Ford axle from 28' to 48' or a Chevy axle from 49' to 54'. Simply because there are lots of reproduction parts for these axles from companies like Speedway Motors! They even carry disc brake conversions for these axles. As for my Gasser project, I am usind a 60's chevy van axle and even it's hard to find parts for!
Old 12-03-2003, 02:07 PM

Oddrodder has it right. Check out Speedway Motors. The've got a website and a huge catalog full of cool stuff. There is another company that sells the parallel leaf front end for this type of project. It's called MAS Inc. They're located somewhere in the midwest. They have a strip-type ad in every issue of Street Rodder Magazine. You can get the axle, springs, bushings, shakels, mounting brackets, and your choice of spindles for ~$400 if I recall correctly. You can even specify the axle width and drop.

A friend of mine just installed a MAS setup on his 38 Chevy using disc brakes and 10 spoke ET Gasser rims. It's pretty sweet!