Gauges Dont work - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 08:23 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: wellington kansas
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Gauges Dont work

On my 90 camaro which was originally a RS now has a 350 the only gauge that works is the battery volt. It appears to have a manual driven speedo as i can see a cable running from trans area up into where the cluster would be. I do have 89 camaro with all working gauges and from what i see i could transfer it over i just wunna make sure before i go tearing stuff apart or what connections i can check to see whats wrong with my gauges.

Also on a side note the guy told me it had a side cluster up by the door but someone stole it so im gunna trace the wire that ran to it and see where t goes but if anyone knows if i can do this please tell me

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 11:39 AM
blue54's Avatar
Registered User
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Graham, Washington
Age: 60
Posts: 46
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I din't know about the trade between 89 & 90, but have you checked the fuses to see if the power supply has been cut? I think the speedo cable drives a pulse generator in the dash so it would need a 12 volt supply. It may have blown when the other cluster was borrowed on long tern loan. Good Luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-05-2009, 03:10 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: wellington kansas
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
lol long term loan i like that lol one day 10 years from now i wake up to a knock on ym door and the guys holding it like here yah go thanks bye lol. Naw i havent messed with it yet i got more problems on it lol like how i cant turn my brights off lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:
Please select your insurance company (Optional)


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Digital Gauges??? zbhover Electrical 1 04-02-2009 08:43 AM
What cam specs work well with centrifugal Superchargers? hotrodf1 Engine 1 09-22-2007 04:21 PM
Stuff I work on at work :) esears Hotrodders' Lounge 6 09-29-2003 01:08 PM
Ever work on the impossible? johnsongrass1 Hotrodders' Lounge 16 08-20-2003 01:59 PM
how do i use the 6 volt gauges on a 12 volt system cardsrusa Electrical 6 07-27-2003 02:12 PM

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:32 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.