Gen 1 SBC Knock Sensor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 07:21 PM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Gen 1 SBC Knock Sensor

G'day all, does anyone know how to rig up a knock sensor system on a sbc gen 1? , however crude ... Is a computer needed? ... Maybe a stethoscope with an extension , or a mic with a little amp and earphones would work, I dunno?
I never done it before, I see summit has knock sensor sender units, but are they just for gen 2 and 3's ? Heads are world sportsman two's..

Any u guys been faced with this task before?

All ideas welcome,

Thanks,



Duke

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 09:50 PM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 8,081
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 322
Thanked 783 Times in 749 Posts
have you talked to AP72? he does all kinds of auto wrecker wiring
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to vinniekq2 For This Useful Post:
thinwhiteduke (02-13-2013)
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 11:35 PM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
thanks Vinnie, I'll swing the question his way...!


Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 11:46 PM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,289
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 114
Thanked 300 Times in 278 Posts
gen I 305/350's had them.. but where computer controlled..
my basic ccc 305 in my 86SS has one..
the TPI and tbi engines also did..
most likely could wire it to a relay to trip a msd timing retard box.. the relay acting as the on/off switch..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:19 AM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
thanks gearhead, but I just got HEI, no box.
Maybe I'm screwed???


Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:27 AM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
I'm not that concerned with controlling it ( by way of ignition retard ) ,
I just want to make sure I can HEAR it if its happening!!
I can't hear squat ATM and I'm 99.9% sure it's not detonating, just thought it might be cool to have some type of indication or amplification , so as to be aware.. Thanks


Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:37 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,289
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 114
Thanked 300 Times in 278 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by thinwhiteduke View Post
I'm not that concerned with controlling it ( by way of ignition retard ) ,
I just want to make sure I can HEAR it if its happening!!
I can't hear squat ATM and I'm 99.9% sure it's not detonating, just thought it might be cool to have some type of indication or amplification , so as to be aware.. Thanks


Duke
WIRE IT TO RELAY AS ON/OFF trigger to a idiot light in dash.. it'll light when you are knock'n boots in engine
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 02:47 AM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearheadslife View Post
WIRE IT TO RELAY AS ON/OFF trigger to a idiot light in dash.. it'll light when you are knock'n boots in engine
Wire what? Are you talkin bout wiring a knock sensor? Pardon my ignorance, I CAN wire stuff, but I got nothin to wire ATM.
Assuming that yor saying to wire a knock sensor, where does that go? In the head I guess..do I have to tap a hole?or does it go in one of the water plug holes, just like a temp sender unit?
Sorry if I come across as 'dumb', please bear with me, I'm living in the past...LOL
I have never even seen such a beast ( knock sensor).

Thanks for you help..

Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 02:55 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,289
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 114
Thanked 300 Times in 278 Posts
THEY GO IN THE block.. the sensor for a 305 is different than a 350
if you have aftermarket parts they can set them off..
you have to torque the sensor per factory manual

I'd have to look to see how they are wired.. to know what terminal to hook it to on relay
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to gearheadslife For This Useful Post:
thinwhiteduke (02-14-2013)
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 03:15 AM
spinn's Avatar
Bubbles is the girl next door
 

Last journal entry: This makes a huge difference
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Midnight
Posts: 2,498
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 13
Thanked 82 Times in 80 Posts
here is a page of diy knock sensor info.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tbnbonus1.gif
Views:	254
Size:	196.0 KB
ID:	71354  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to spinn For This Useful Post:
64nailhead (02-14-2013), thinwhiteduke (02-14-2013), vinniekq2 (02-14-2013)
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:40 PM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Thanks Spinn, that's helpful, it's the right price!,... And something I could handle..I'm studying that.

Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 04:47 PM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gearheadslife View Post
THEY GO IN THE block.. the sensor for a 305 is different than a 350
if you have aftermarket parts they can set them off..
you have to torque the sensor per factory manual

I'd have to look to see how they are wired.. to know what terminal to hook it to on relay
Thanks gearhead, everything is aftermarket , bar the block, crank and rods.
It's starting to look like I might be need ing some form of computer .
I'm learning, so that's always a good thing!

Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-17-2013, 03:16 PM
F-BIRD'88's Avatar
Yada Yada Yada
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 9,153
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 380 Times in 374 Posts
DIY Detonation detector

and amplified engine ears ( part II)

I built these simple low cost but effective engine ears using similar stuff as the article shows, that I sourced from Radio Shack, here. They work. Clip the mic to a bolt or...on the side of the engine block near the frost plugs.

AutoSpeed - DIY Detonation Detection - Part 1
AutoSpeed - DIY Detonation Detection - Part 2

reference Radio Shack PN 33-1096
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
The Following User Says Thank You to F-BIRD'88 For This Useful Post:
thinwhiteduke (02-19-2013)
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2013, 09:46 PM
thinwhiteduke's Avatar
Living In The Past
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Downunder
Age: 54
Posts: 428
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 36
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Thankyou VERY much f,bird. That's EXACTLY the kind of system I had in my mind, simple amplifier, it's just gotta work!
BTW what tranny you running in you car, is the a two speed or three speed?
Looks real quick on the u-tube vid, 👍 what's your q/mile?

Duke
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 02-20-2013, 06:56 AM
How fast is fast enough?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 29
Posts: 9,087
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 17
Thanked 333 Times in 313 Posts
Sorry I took so long to reply, got distracted. The links provided give you a good DIY start, BUT without tying it into computer controlled fuel/ignition you're very limited on how useful it will be. It can work as an "idiot light" so to speak but not really useful for tuning.

Also it is very easy to get a false reading with aftermarket valvetrain or sometimes pistons or a very worn engine block.

You may be better off just tuning it the "old fashioned way" with plug reading, vacuum reading, and some common sense starting points.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Affordable knock sensor- carbed sbc TryMe Engine 3 04-04-2009 02:16 PM
Gen III SBC cold knock basicly fixed...! Bumpstick Engine 3 01-04-2008 08:37 PM
knock sensor corsair1961 Engine 4 05-23-2006 06:52 PM
Cold knock issue with Gen III SBC`s...? Bumpstick Engine 14 04-09-2006 09:34 PM
10. to 1 Knock sensor??? catdad2u Engine 6 11-14-2002 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.