Getting the highbeam bulb to light - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 05:20 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maui,Hawaii
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Getting the highbeam bulb to light

Hi Guys,

Help PLEASE! Here's what I've done. I have a 2002 S10. I made a new aluminum dash with all new Auto Meter gauges. Green turn signal bulbs and one blue high beam bulb. I have all my new wiring finished and everything works right except my high beam indicator bulb.I think I'm at my limit of understanding this! I thought I had it because I found the wire by the steering column that lights up when I used my test light when I flashed the high beams. I hooked it up but when I turn my high beams on it just flashes for a split second. It's like I'm flashing my brights to oncoming traffic.It just flashes when I flash it. Hope you are with me here!Can I splice into the high beam bulb at the headlight? Do both high beam wires need to be spliced together then to the indicator bulb and then ground the other side of the bulb?Give me some ideas guys!! Man DOC was the man. I know we all miss him!! Thanks in advance guys!!!

Thom

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 05:28 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 17,036
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 24
Thanked 332 Times in 258 Posts
I think you just have it hooked to the wrong wire. I figure when you pull on the lever, it sends a signal to the relay to the high beams momentarily...That must be the wire you are hooked to. There must be another wire there for the light.....I take it you didn't label it when you took the old dash out?

Doc would probably had a wiring diagram for this......maybe someone else does.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 07:42 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maui,Hawaii
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Getting the highbeam bulb to light

Hi Poncha62,

Yea you are right! I didn't label it!! I'll try somemore wires, or like you said someone might have a wire color or a diagram. Thanks for your reply.

Thom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 08:09 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Delta, Pensylvania
Posts: 12
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No High Beam Indicator

You might try getting a book on your S10 from some place like auto zone and checking out the wiring diagrams for the steering column. That is most likely where the high beam indicator wire originates from.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 10:12 PM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommer2
Hi Guys,

!Can I splice into the high beam bulb at the headlight? Do both high beam wires need to be spliced together then to the indicator bulb and then ground the other side of the bulb?Give me some ideas guys!! Man DOC was the man. I know we all miss him!! Thanks in advance guys!!!

Thom
Yes you could do that easily and you would only need it on one hi beam bulb. What you have though of is a fine work around and will not have any bad effect on the circuit as a whole, you are just picking up a signal in the circuit at a different location.

Better yet locate the wire for you high beams before it goes out the firewall. It will take a try or two, I think already you understand the idea as a whole, but here is some detail.

At the main plug going out the firewall you should have two wires for your headlights , hi & low . With everything off no key pull the light switch on find the low side and then turn on the hi side and find that wire just put a splice in that wire.

You just might stumble across the the original connection in the process of working the work around.. Can not remember for sure but I do not think the hi beam indicator light for hi beams is through the column, a signal for the relay would run down the column and out to a relay ( hi beam) and the connection would be on the closed side of the relay contact.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-14-2008, 11:23 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maui,Hawaii
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Getting the highbeam bulb to light

Hi Pepi,

That is a GREAT answer. I'll do it tomorrow!!! Thanks again!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2008, 07:20 AM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
fat fingered ................

Last edited by pepi; 05-15-2008 at 07:26 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2008, 07:25 AM
pepi's Avatar
How’s that hopey-changey thing
 
Last wiki edit: Determining top dead center
Last journal entry: Quicky frame dolly
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Georgia ... USA
Posts: 1,835
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My pleasure glad I could be of some help ......... it is always something.

But that is the fun of it all..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2008, 09:29 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Maui,Hawaii
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Getting the highbeam bulb to light

Hi Again Pepi,

You were right on!! Did what you said, found the wire and spliced it. PRESTO highbeam indicator lights!!! Thanks for you other guys that chimed in!! This fourm is the BOMB!

Thom
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring up a highbeam indicator bulb tommer2 Electrical 1 05-10-2008 03:00 PM
How many rodders does it take to change a light bulb? Dusty82 Hotrodders' Lounge 6 09-01-2005 11:02 PM
How many Forum members.............. Stitch Hotrodders' Lounge 29 03-11-2004 08:31 AM
85 s-10 distributor wiring question strracer7 Electrical 1 09-29-2003 04:39 AM
a little humor to get through the evening antirice Hotrodders' Lounge 7 08-28-2003 09:36 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.