Hot Rod Forum banner

Getting Rodding Experience without having a car

785 views 10 replies 8 participants last post by  kgard 
#1 ·
Guys/Gals,

I currently don't have a car to build because I'm not sure what I want to build. One minute I want to build a chevy Fleetline, the next minute I want to build something else. I just can't make up my mind. I just know I want to build something pre-1958. Anyway, I'm a novice to building hot rods. The little experience that I have came from building aircooled volkswagens. I wanted to run this by you all first to see if I was thinking on the right path. I was wondering if it would be a good idea to ask some of the hotrodders in my area (we have some awesome cars in the Hampton Roads, Tidewater Virginia area) if they would be willing to trade their experience for some free labor. I don't want any money I would just like to be able to help them with whatever they are doing just to gain the know how. Does this sound like the way to go or is this just wishful thinking. I'm definitely mechanically inclined. I've just never built an american car before.

thanks for your input.

#2 ·
Sounds like a reasonable idea to me. I started a roadster project after my son had grown up and left home, so had it all to do myself with no help whatsoever. I had to build fixtures to hold components while I built frame/crossmember/supports to locate and nail these components into the car. If I had someone to help and just hold them in position while I tacked them, it would have taken half as long to build the car.

I would think that if you asked around and found someone who is working alone on a project, he/she would welcome some help in return for adding to your education. I know I would have taken you up on your offer.

#4 ·