Hot Rod Forum banner

Ghost lines from welded patch panels

18K views 55 replies 20 participants last post by  NEW INTERIORS 
#1 ·
First off, this is my first post. figure i should say thanks to all of you since i have been learning so many new things from this site that have made my life a little easier. I am a collision painter. I do all of my own personal bodywork and i have been doing it for a few years. this problem has been bothering me lately though. I am having this issue where all of my patch panels have been welded in on my car. I did the bodywork last winter, sprayed it right after and i noticed the ghost spots once it sat in the sun for a couple days. a block and buff will hide them for a month or so but then they faintly re appear over time. my process was the following:

1) cut filler panels to exact size, same gauge sheet metal as factory panel. stripped paint back ~4" around are to be welded

2) butt welded in place. about 5 tacks spread apart, let panel air cool, then 5 more in between previous, etc. once it looked solid i ground down the welds, used my hand sand blaster gun to clean out the small gaps between the welds, then welded the remaining gaps up. (miller 180 w/ gas)

3) ground down the remaining welds

4) I have done both of these processes on 2 different patch locations on the car. First was a coat of duraglass filler, rage gold, icing. then the other was just rage gold, icing. both areas have the same ghost effect. after i block out each filler i tend to let it sit for an hour or so to make sure its had some time to cure before skimming on the next. all done in 70-80 degree shop temp.