gimme some tips on 3m Trizac buffing system - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-08-2006, 10:31 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

gimme some tips on 3m Trizac buffing system

Heres the deal. I've got a 67' camaro RS in my shop. I'm painting it Nassau Blue metallic using Nason BC/CC (497-00 clearcoat). I have a complete Trizac system (velcro DA pad, 1500 grit , 3000 grit, macine glaze, hand glaze every kind of buffing pad also a bottle of every 3M compound on the market) I need advice on the Trizac because I've never used it before. The customer wanted it scuffed and buffed and paid for materials up front. I bought Trizac because it was suppose to be the new fast way to sand and buff. Anyways, I've got any and all products at my disposal I just need some input on technique and application. So lay it on me I'm waiting.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-09-2006, 08:07 AM
Problem Child,Hard Case

Last journal entry: Strangest job I've ever done
Last photo:

1500 DRY with the interface pad to flatten the peel.
Wash or wipe down with the Microfiber rag. Wash is better IMO.Your call.
3000 Trizact pad DAMP on the interface pad. Use a squirt bottle with water and spritz a shot on the pad,a squirt or 2 on the area and start sanding.
You want enough water to make the pad "foam" but too much water and it just hydroplanes and won't cut.So light on the water.
3M recommends a cross sanding pattern. North-South,East-West.
The Trizact pad "should" do 1 vehicle.