GM Air Conditioner compressor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003, 12:53 AM
Jag Daddy's Avatar
British Style with USA Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valencia, California
Age: 57
Posts: 1,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question GM Air Conditioner compressor

Are most GM air conditioner compressors the same on the older engines? Mine has been painted so I can't read the numbers or who it's made by?

Regards
Mark

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003, 03:37 AM
mikeweyman's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: 2 years later
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: nova scotia canada
Posts: 581
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
other than in newer cars, i don't remember ever seeing a diffrent one, they all look the same. ...mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003, 05:24 AM
1BAD80's Avatar
The Smell of Nitro in the morn
 
Last wiki edit: How to adjust valves Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Mich
Posts: 2,423
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
There are 2 different sizes, I belive in length only. Around the early 80s. What year are you talking about?
__________________
Luv the smell of NITRO in the morning.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003, 12:54 PM
Vetter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New Jersey
Age: 28
Posts: 192
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Well in the early 70s and older, they used radial style compressors. So they are different for the period of time.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003, 01:25 PM
Jag Daddy's Avatar
British Style with USA Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valencia, California
Age: 57
Posts: 1,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
OK well here is what I know, the block in my Jag is a 400 4 bolt from around 1976. It's got a Performer intake and Qjet. So let's assume it's mid 70's to early 80's. The compressor is cylindrical in shape with 2 stainless tubes running from it. The fittings look to have been hacked off and the hoses held on by hose clamps (this will change with the new compressor). I would like to convert over to R-134 since freon is out of site right now. Can the stock compressor handle R-134 or should I opt for a newer model?

I've been told that the only thing I need to change is the dryer assm. but I want to make sure before I dive into this head first.

I was thinking of buying a rebuilt from Track or Kragen any opinion on that?

Regards
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003, 01:33 PM
Rodder's Avatar
StreetRods Forever
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elkhorn, Nebraska
Age: 64
Posts: 24
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I switched over to r-134 in a Nissan pickup, never changed anything. Put adaptors on the fittings, sucked it down, refilled with the 134 and it worked great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-27-2003, 01:55 PM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You most likely have a Harrison model AL-6, that's a very good compressor. It'll take anything you can throw at it.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-28-2003, 02:06 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
http://www.mkjltd.com/remanufactured...ufactured2.htm

Note the A6 seems to be upside down.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-28-2003, 09:32 AM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
.....I mean A6...

Upside down huh, I'll bet that's for high performance applications.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2003, 08:53 AM
48aero's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 53 Chevy PU
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Tyler,Tx
Posts: 26
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
oil

I would use ester oil in the install of r134 as the mineral oil used with r12 doesn't like to disburse with r134. The mineral oil lays in a low place in the system and just stays out of the way. This is what I've learned from several a/c sites. FYI

Jesse
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2003, 09:17 AM
Jag Daddy's Avatar
British Style with USA Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valencia, California
Age: 57
Posts: 1,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Jimfulco for the link, after looking at the car and then the photos on the link I have an R4 I think, the hoses off the back are missing in the photo. Any problem using that compressor with R-134?

Thanks
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 08-29-2003, 10:47 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Can't say for sure. I've only had one car with an R4, & they ate themselves up too often for me. The longest-lasting one I had was a used one from a junkyard, & it lasted a year and a half. A rebuilt one prior to that lasted barely long enough for the printing on the receipt to fade away so bad the warranty disappeared.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 08-30-2003, 12:02 AM
Jag Daddy's Avatar
British Style with USA Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valencia, California
Age: 57
Posts: 1,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
So if the R4 is not a good one can I swap out a better one? Could I put a A6 in it's place?

Regards
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2003, 02:52 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Shreveport LA
Age: 64
Posts: 5,103
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A6's are prone to lasting forever, but they suck up horsepower like nobody's business. That's why they started using the R4, less drain. The A6's were used from the dark ages until the late 70's or early 80's, so bracketry shouldn't be hard to find. I'm wanting to mount a small Sanden compressor where my A6 currently lives if I can. They don't use much power, and they only cost ~$200 new.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2003, 09:47 AM
Jag Daddy's Avatar
British Style with USA Muscle
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Valencia, California
Age: 57
Posts: 1,078
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
That sound like a good option, I'll have to look into that. Is the mounting the same?

Regards
Mark
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.