GM eSI DVD question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Garage - Tools
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2007, 07:40 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
GM eSI DVD question

I bought a GM eSI Factory Service Manual DVD for my daughter's 2004 Chevy Malibu and I must be doing something wrong with the installation on my PC. Does anybody have any experience with this?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-11-2007, 09:27 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Should have no problems installing it and running it as long as your "firewall" does not block it...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2007, 06:10 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I went through the installation a couple of times (on 2 computers). On one I get a message about the Standalone application being installed and the standalone data files needing to be installed. The other computer starts the web browser and looks (in vain) for IP address 127.0.0.1 .

I get the feeling that I'm doing something in the wrong order... I ran the autorun files on the DVD, then copied the "copy to harddrive" folder to the hard drive, then ran the setup and update files on that. The instructions that came with the DVD are vague.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2007, 07:08 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 642
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
What operating system are you running and are you running a firewall??? 127.0.0.1 is a loop back to your own machine nothing to worry about. You will want to shut the firewall down for a few mins to install the software... You should have a disk labeled "application" thats the first disk to run...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 11-12-2007, 02:50 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
One computer is running Windows 2000 Pro, the other one Vista Home Premium. I disabled the firewalls, anti-virus, and everything that wasn't absolutely necessary. In what order did you install everything?

I would think that the SI Stand-alone data that it's asking for would be the stuff that's in the "Copy to HardDrive" folder. These folders and files were installed in the C:\Program Files\GM SPO\eSI\SIROM\SIen folder (Db, R0, R1, R2, R2.1).

Last edited by MAUSS; 11-12-2007 at 03:11 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2007, 05:49 AM
aminga's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Cleaning and Powder coat
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Alabama
Age: 48
Posts: 94
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAUSS
I went through the installation a couple of times (on 2 computers). On one I get a message about the Standalone application being installed and the standalone data files needing to be installed. The other computer starts the web browser and looks (in vain) for IP address 127.0.0.1 .

I get the feeling that I'm doing something in the wrong order... I ran the autorun files on the DVD, then copied the "copy to harddrive" folder to the hard drive, then ran the setup and update files on that. The instructions that came with the DVD are vague.
On Any computer 127.0.0.1 should be the loopback address and valid. It's the reference address for itself.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 11-13-2007, 08:56 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The eSI software has a web server (Tomcat) built into it to allow access to the files. The icon on the desktop opens the 127.0.0.1 address (the Tomcat server inside the computer), but it can't seem to open the eSI data files themselves from there. This is where it comes up and says that the Stand-alone data files need to be installed. I guess it could be looking in the wrong place for them.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 11-14-2007, 06:06 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After much searching, I found copies of the original paper GM eSI DVD installation instructions online... this looks promising. It says that the Java 2 Runtime Environment has to be removed before installation and that Microsoft .NET Framework 1.1 has to be installed. I'll have to try this again tonight.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2007, 04:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Raleigh
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Has anyone figured this one out yet? I just got the DVD and it just opens 127.0.0.....blah blah and it cannot find it. Anyone know what I should do?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2007, 07:49 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I finally got it to work by loading it onto a clean install of Windows 2000 Pro. I made sure nothing else was loaded on the computer, loaded the Microsoft .NET Framework, eSI program, then loaded the anti-virus, firewall, MS Office, etc. Fortunately I had enough parts on hand to build the extra PC. It seems to work fine now.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2007, 11:20 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: MinnESOTA
Posts: 23
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
This is a little amazing. I can buy downloading the .net -- which comes in 1.1, 2.0, and 3.0 -- all of which are supposed to be able to run on the same computer -- at the same time. ( I have 1.1 and 2.0)

Uninstallling the Java2.0 seems awfully strange -- unless the DVD requires a different version. Maybe it wants to install a different version ( which could be an earlier one), and it won't if one is installed. In my opinion that's a pretty bogus installation process.

Glad that you got it working.


ford2go
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-23-2007, 08:18 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Virginia
Posts: 381
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It might have been sensitive to the order in which they were installed. If I have the time, I might experiment with it... it's really the only thing I use that computer for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Garage - Tools posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
mouse smell swvalcon Interior 18 03-14-2012 07:11 AM
7.625 GM Diff question???? mattmanuel Transmission - Rearend 1 08-11-2006 03:45 PM
91 gm 7.625 rear end question???? camaro420 Transmission - Rearend 2 05-01-2006 08:22 PM
GM HEI Distributor question Jag Daddy Engine 8 10-30-2003 05:12 PM
GM column size question 29 2dr sedan Interior 2 09-17-2003 05:06 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.