Hot Rod Forum banner

GM saginaw pump to Ford Ranger R&P

7K views 20 replies 5 participants last post by  coryhussey 
#1 ·
Hey guys, I just finished my chevy colorado project I have been working on for 6 years now. I did a custom mustang 2 front suspension on it, with air ride. I am using a gm saginaw power steering pump, with a ford ranger rack and pinion. I am using it because of how narrow the rack is. Anyways I went through the proper bleeding procedures with the rack and pinion. With the front of the truck in the air, the power steering works well. When you drop it down on the front wheels, it feels more like a manual rack, as you have to muscle the wheel at low speeds to turn. I know on the mustang racks you actually have to run a inline pressure reducer because the saginaw pump outputs too much pressure for the ford rack. It is like I am having the opposite effect where mine doesnt have enough pressure, or the check valves are working against each other. Has anyone ever encountered this problem? Should I be running a different steering pump than I have? any advice would be greatly appreciated

cory

#4 ·
the gm saginaw pump is a brand new tuff stuff power steering pump. I do not see the check valve being stuck at all. The steering gets tougher once the truck is running. Its almost like their is a fluid lock in between the pump and rack. Im just not sure where to start though

#5 ·