GM saginaw pump to Ford Ranger R&P - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-21-2012, 01:41 PM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

GM saginaw pump to Ford Ranger R&P

Hey guys, I just finished my chevy colorado project I have been working on for 6 years now. I did a custom mustang 2 front suspension on it, with air ride. I am using a gm saginaw power steering pump, with a ford ranger rack and pinion. I am using it because of how narrow the rack is. Anyways I went through the proper bleeding procedures with the rack and pinion. With the front of the truck in the air, the power steering works well. When you drop it down on the front wheels, it feels more like a manual rack, as you have to muscle the wheel at low speeds to turn. I know on the mustang racks you actually have to run a inline pressure reducer because the saginaw pump outputs too much pressure for the ford rack. It is like I am having the opposite effect where mine doesnt have enough pressure, or the check valves are working against each other. Has anyone ever encountered this problem? Should I be running a different steering pump than I have? any advice would be greatly appreciated

cory

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-18-2012, 06:41 AM

Last wiki edit: General Motors transmissions Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 27

pressure req's

I have read here on HR that some of the T birds Use higher pressure Racks that the M II, they look the same from the outside, Maybe the Ranger might also be a high pressure system, ? ? You might ask on one of the Ford Ranger forums
Old 09-18-2012, 08:45 AM
Gotta love a turbo!

Last journal entry: Body on Frame today.
Last photo: