Going from 350 to 383... - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 10:55 PM
Xavier
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Age: 26
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Going from 350 to 383...

I have an 84 z28 camaro. I have a keith black 383 kit to put on a 350 clearenced block. Any info on what the HP and torque will be when it's put in?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 10:59 PM
dub's Avatar
dub dub is offline
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Time to drive..
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 114
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
What else is on the motor?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 11:21 PM
Xavier
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Age: 26
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Other then the 383 stroker kit, a 650 holley carb, and 292 cam. thats all i can think of right now. This is my first build so be patient with me. My step dad is helping me with it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-13-2013, 11:41 PM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,075
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
heads?
intake?
you said 292 cam, comp? flat tappet? solid? roller?
1.5 rockers, 1.6? full roller rockers?
is it a 2 bolt or 4 bolt.. (I'd use main studs ARP) you mighy need a small base circle lobe cam and a comp magnum cam isn't. the rods may hit the cam.
you need to find out if the rods clear a normal cam or if you need a small basecircle cam lobe..
if so.. go a little lighter on lift, if using a flat tappet cam and make up the loss at the cam with 1.6 rockers..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:19 AM
327NUT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Utah
Age: 67
Posts: 3,202
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 63 Times in 57 Posts
This question is asked a million times, all you'll get obviously are guesses. The only real way is to spend the money and get it dyno'd, that way you can also break in the cam under load and set the fuel and timing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 12:28 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,075
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 327NUT View Post
This question is asked a million times, all you'll get obviously are guesses. The only real way is to spend the money and get it dyno'd, that way you can also break in the cam under load and set the fuel and timing.
true, NOT..
600-800 for a dyno run/break in..
or a day at the track?
yes the dyno will give you a # but at a cost..
an et and mph will also..
not everyone has that much cabbage to blow to get a non real word #
to get your #'s you'd need your exhaust hooked up(most can't do this)
most don't run aircleaners.. , nor. e10 fuel
so the #'s are worthless..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 01:37 AM
327NUT's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: So. Utah
Age: 67
Posts: 3,202
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 63 Times in 57 Posts
Well you're pretty opinionated aren't you? So sorry I gave this guy a bunch of bullchit info. My dyno time was $500 for a full day and it showed me how much hp and torque my engine put out with a load on it and 89 octane. I think that's exactly what he was asking for. If you read his post he said this is his first build, do you really think he's going to go to the track and have the knowledge to figure out his timing, air/fuel mixture, know how to read his plugs and then convert the et and speed into hp/trq?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 02:45 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,075
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 327NUT View Post
Well you're pretty opinionated aren't you? So sorry I gave this guy a bunch of bullchit info. My dyno time was $500 for a full day and it showed me how much hp and torque my engine put out with a load on it and 89 octane. I think that's exactly what he was asking for. If you read his post he said this is his first build, do you really think he's going to go to the track and have the knowledge to figure out his timing, air/fuel mixture, know how to read his plugs and then convert the et and speed into hp/trq?
first you don't learn from someone else tuning it for you
2nd, AGAIN dyno's don't run real pump fuel that for 95% of this country would be 10% ethnol fuel with an oxanizer(sp?)
3rd, any number under load on a water brake will not have the installed in car exhaust, this can have a 30-40hp swing to any "numbers" the dyno sheet says.
4th, if the dyno shop is at sea level and your not.. the tuning will not = the numbers on the dyno..
5th, dyno will not inclose the engine to it's own heat that unless you have a cold air inlet, it will have to deal with in the "REAL WORLD"
or a p/s pump or alt. or an air cleaner, it'll have a fancy bowl that help funnel the air into the carb in a way that no aircleaner set up will..
6th.. opinionated, nope.. facts are facts..
TELL ME i'M WRONG!!! better yet, PROVE I'M WRONG
why even care about a dyno sheet with x hp # and x ft lb's when you install it in the car it not even be close to the dyno set up..
best dyno room I saw was at mann engineering the engine sat in an area that was a mirror of most engine compartments , they installed the aircleaner you'd be running, and all the as. drive, and YOUR FULL EXHAUST SYSTEM.. if your engine was to breath underhood air, so did the engine on the dyno..
that gave you a real idea of what it had..
very very few will do this, and most dyno cells can't..
so the dyno pull #'s is no real than anyones "air" dyno ..
total waste of funds, unless you get to run it in, as installed in vehicle form.. not an opinion, it's fact.. again prove me wrong

Last edited by gearheadslife; 02-14-2013 at 02:50 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 07:48 AM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 7,429
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 292
Thanked 708 Times in 683 Posts
chasis dynos like the mustang are great for setting fuel curve and testing timing settings.Great for simulating real road driving as load can be varied,,,,,etc worth it

How much horse power your engine will make is easy to guess if YOU,supply actual air flow readings of your heads from a certified flow bench along with cam specs.intake and fuel management system info,exhaust specs
for the layman,stock cast iron heads and flat tappet hydraulic cam= not much,,,maybe 1 horse power per cubic inch plus or minus a little.
If you donot have a good exhaust system then less
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:06 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,075
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinniekq2 View Post
chasis dynos like the mustang are great for setting fuel curve and testing timing settings.Great for simulating real road driving as load can be varied,,,,,etc worth it

How much horse power your engine will make is easy to guess if YOU,supply actual air flow readings of your heads from a certified flow bench along with cam specs.intake and fuel management system info,exhaust specs
for the layman,stock cast iron heads and flat tappet hydraulic cam= not much,,,maybe 1 horse power per cubic inch plus or minus a little.
If you donot have a good exhaust system then less
I'd not run a car on a chassis dyno without a driveshaft loop..
yes chassis dyno's add realworld to it.. and have a place, but not everyone has 500+ bucks to play at one.. or the repairs when it(the dyno) finds the drivetrain weak link.. and it will..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:18 AM
vinniekq2's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC,Canada
Age: 56
Posts: 7,429
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 292
Thanked 708 Times in 683 Posts
weak link

Quote:
Originally Posted by gearheadslife View Post
I'd not run a car on a chassis dyno without a driveshaft loop..
yes chassis dyno's add realworld to it.. and have a place, but not everyone has 500+ bucks to play at one.. or the repairs when it(the dyno) finds the drivetrain weak link.. and it will..
If what you are saying is semi correct,then the chassis dyno is the best place for the car to come unglued
dont have to worry about pole vaulting a driveshaft
$500.00 is a very cheap ball park tune,especially where knock might be present.
getting exact a/f readings under power. This also gives you the ability to choose an A/F ratio to start with and then road test with a real number to start with.
street tune and race tune can both be tested on the same day.write down the results in a jounal,now knowing what a jet/air bleed chainge will do for your engine

If you build a very mild street engine then all this information will be moot
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 08:29 AM
gearheadslife's Avatar
MentalMuffinMan
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 2,075
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 85
Thanked 229 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinniekq2 View Post
If what you are saying is semi correct,then the chassis dyno is the best place for the car to come unglued
dont have to worry about pole vaulting a driveshaft
$500.00 is a very cheap ball park tune,especially where knock might be present.
getting exact a/f readings under power. This also gives you the ability to choose an A/F ratio to start with and then road test with a real number to start with.
street tune and race tune can both be tested on the same day.write down the results in a jounal,now knowing what a jet/air bleed chainge will do for your engine

If you build a very mild street engine then all this information will be moot
yup.. but if you go this route, it is wise to have a few different power valves, ramps /shooters/ accel pumps/ jets and gaskets,, and in some cases air bleeds.. plugs in a few different heat ranges if you find a shop that remembers what a carb is.lol
and have already done a basic tune up.. (cap/rotor/plugs/wires/etc)

nothing worse than getting there and haven't to run around looking for part..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2013, 11:15 PM
Xavier
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Terre Haute, Indiana
Age: 26
Posts: 13
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Didn't mean to start a debate. But I did get a lot of good info from this. Thanks for the help. Ill try and post some pics soon of the 383 components.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
whats better 400 crank or a 383 crank in a 350 sbc when trying to build a 383? onlychevy Hotrodding Basics 14 12-28-2012 07:27 AM
350 or 383 Jkingof956 Engine 41 03-21-2011 09:46 AM
350 to 383, works with my 350 rods and pistons? Berres Engine 2 07-27-2009 07:51 AM
350 to 383 ? To much or not enough ? chevy350_Camd Engine 41 04-27-2008 08:17 PM
SB 350 or 383? awoodman Engine 19 07-28-2007 01:46 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.